Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612

Adam Proffitt, Director



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

February 15, 2023

The Honorable Caryn Tyson, Chairperson Senate Committee on Assessment and Taxation 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 548-S Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Tyson:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 127 by Senate Committee on Assessment and Taxation

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 127 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

SB 127 would allow Dickinson County to place on the ballot a question imposing a sales tax at the rate of 0.25 percent for the purpose of public safety capital projects. The tax would expire after five years, and the county may submit a question to the county electors imposing the tax for additional five-year periods.

The Department of Revenue indicates SB 127 would affect only local sales tax collections in Dickinson County and would have no fiscal effect on state revenues. The Department indicates that the administrative costs associated with implementing the provisions of the bill would be negligible and could be absorbed within existing resources.

Sincerely,

Adam Proffitt

Director of the Budget

1- C.- 7

cc: Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue