Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612



Phone: (785) 296-2436 adam.c.proffitt@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

Adam Proffitt, Director

February 13, 2023

The Honorable Carolyn McGinn, Chairperson Senate Committee on Local Government 300 SW 10th Avenue, Room 142-S Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator McGinn:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 163 by Senate Committee on Local Government

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 163 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

SB 163 would create the Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center (DPTTC) District Act. The bill would require the Douglas County Board of County Commissioners to submit to the voters of the county the question of establishing the Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center District and authorizing the district to levy a tax not to exceed 0.5 mills on all taxable tangible property located in the district to fund the budget of the training center as determined by the board of directors of the district. If establishment of the district is approved by a majority of those voting on the issue, the existing Board of Directors of the DPTTC would be dissolved and a seven-member district board would be created. The bill would also provide for the organization, obligations, requirements for meetings, and powers of the board.

The Secretary of State indicates SB 163 would not have a fiscal effect on the Secretary of State. The local election authorized by SB 163 would be conducted and paid for by the Douglas County. The Kansas Department of Revenue indicates SB 163 would not have a fiscal effect.

The Kansas Association of Counties indicates Douglas County would no longer be responsible for taxing to fund the Dwayne Peaslee Technical Training Center. The new district would have its own taxing authority for the territory located in Douglas County resulting in a more stable source of funding.

Sincerely,

Adam Proffitt

Director of the Budget

cc: Lynn Robinson, Department of Revenue Sandy Tompkins, Office of the Secretary of State Jay Hall, Kansas Association of Counties