## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1759**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2023-2024 Barton Community College Men's Basketball Team for an outstanding season and for winning the National Junior College Athletic Association Division 1 Men's Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The National Junior College Athletic Association Division 1 Men's Basketball Championship Tournament (NJCAA) has been held in Hutchinson for 75 years. The prestigious tournament is primarily run by community volunteers, showcasing Hutchinson to college coaches, players, students and thousands of fans; and

WHEREAS, On March 30, 2024, the Barton Community College Men's Basketball Team won the NJCAA Division 1 Championship by defeating Triton College 88-73; and

WHEREAS, The team finished the season at 36-1 for the most wins in program history and captured the 2023-2024 Kansas Jayhawk Community College Conference (KJCCC) Championship; and

WHEREAS, Barton made its fifth NJCAA tournament appearance and became the first team since 2004 to win each of its tournament games by double digits. With their 27<sup>th</sup> consecutive win of the season, Barton secured its inaugural national championship; and

WHEREAS, The team's roster was composed of Ring Malith, Mozae Downing-Rivers, Keandre Kindell, Brent Moss, Christian Bowen-Webb, Amiri Ndayisaba, Stefan Spray, Myles Thompson, Fawaz Surakat, Cooper Jackson, Lajae Jones, Aleng Bol, Bailey Milligan, Bralen Thompson and Fontaine Williams; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jeremy Coombs is a Kansas native who played basketball at Labette Community College and Kansas Wesleyan. The coaching staff, which includes Assistant Coaches Austin Downing and Tyson Downing, has compiled a record of 76-24 in three seasons at Barton. Coach Coombs was named the KJCCC Coach of the Year, the NJCAA Coach of the Tournament and the NJCAA Division 1 Men's Head Basketball Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Barton Community College Men's Basketball Team for an outstanding season and winning the NJCAA Division 1 Men's Basketball Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That we recognize the Athletic Director Trevor Rolfs, Assistant Athletic Director Heather Panning, Sports Information Director Todd Moore, Auxiliary Services Manager Brandon Smith, administrative staff, training staff, coaches, players and President Heilman for an historic 2023-2024 season; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send three enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Straub.

Senate Resolution No. 1759 was sponsored by Senator Alicia Straub.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.