2023 Kansas Statutes

32-1410. Establishment of council on travel and tourism; composition, voting and nonvoting members; terms, vacancies; chairperson and vice chairperson; meetings; quorum; travel expenses, sources. (a) (1) There is hereby established the council on travel and tourism. The council shall consist of 17 voting members as follows:

(A) The chairperson of the standing committee on commerce of the senate, or a member of the senate appointed by the president of the senate;

(B) the vice chairperson of the standing committee on commerce of the senate, or a member of the senate appointed by the president of the senate;

(C) the ranking minority member of the standing committee on commerce of the senate, or a member of the senate appointed by the minority leader of the senate;
(D) the chairperson of the standing committee on agriculture and natural resources of the house of representatives, or its successor committee, or a member of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;
(E) the vice chairperson of the standing committee on agriculture and natural resources of the house of representatives, or its successor committee, or a member of the standing committee on agriculture and natural resources of the house of representatives, or its successor committee, or a member of the standing committee on agriculture and natural resources of the house of representatives, or its successor committee, or a member of

the house of representatives appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives;

(F) the ranking minority member of the standing committee on agriculture and natural resources of the house of representatives, or its successor committee, or a member of the house of representatives appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives; and

(G) eleven members appointed by the governor. Of the 11 members appointed by the governor, one shall be appointed from a list of three nominations made by the travel industry association of Kansas, one shall be an individual engaged in the lodging industry and appointed from a list of three nominations made by the Kansas restaurant and hospitality association, one shall be an individual engaged in the restaurant industry and appointed from a list of three nominations made by the Kansas restaurant and hospitality association, one shall be an individual engaged in the restaurant industry and appointed from a list of three nominations made by the Kansas restaurant and hospitality association, one shall be appointed from a list of three nominations made by the petroleum marketers and convenience store association of Kansas, one shall be appointed from a list of three nominations by the Kansas sport hunting association and six shall be appointed to represent the general public.

(2) In addition to the voting members of the council, four members of the council shall serve ex officio: The secretary of commerce, the secretary of transportation, the secretary of wildlife and parks and the executive director of the state historical society. Each ex officio member of the council may designate an officer or employee of the state agency of the ex officio member to serve on the council in place of the ex officio members of the council, or their designees, shall be nonvoting members of the council and shall provide information and advice to the council.

(b) Legislator members shall be appointed for terms coinciding with the terms for which such members are elected. Of the 11 members first appointed by the governor, six shall be appointed for terms of three years and five shall be appointed for terms of two years as determined by the governor. Thereafter, all members appointed by the governor shall be appointed for terms of three years. All members appointed to fill vacancies in the membership of the council and all members appointed to succeed members appointed to membership on the council shall be appointed in like manner as that provided for the original appointment of the member succeeded.

(c) On July 1 of each year the council shall elect a chairperson and vice-chairperson from among its members. The council shall meet at least four times each year at the call of the chairperson of the council. Nine voting members of the council shall constitute a quorum.

(d) Members of the council attending meetings of such council, or attending a subcommittee meeting thereof authorized by such council, shall be paid amounts for mileage as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223(c), and amendments thereto, or a lesser amount as determined by the secretary of commerce. Amounts paid under this subsection to ex officio members of the council, or their designees, shall be from

appropriations to the state agencies of which such members are officers or employees upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the chief administrative officers of such agencies. Amounts paid under this subsection to voting members of the council shall be from moneys available for the payment of such amounts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the chairperson of the council. **History:** L. 1987, ch. 279, § 1; L. 1997, ch. 171, § 5; L. 2003, ch. 83, § 1; L. 2003, ch. 154, § 84; L. 2012, ch. 47, § 108; L. 2023, ch. 7, § 97; July 1.