

Testimony: House Bill 2159 Senate Public Health & Welfare Committee March 15, 2012 By: Deborah S. Clements, MD, President

Chairman Schmidt and members of the committee:

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony on House Bill 2159 on behalf of the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians. KAFP represents over 1,560 practicing, resident and medical student members from across this great state of Kansas. The mission of the Kansas Academy of Family Physicians is to promote access to and excellence in health care for all Kansans through education and advocacy for family physicians and their patients. As family physicians, we see people of all ages, both men and women, and we work with almost every type of ailment and illness that affilicts our patients. We often refer patients to physical therapists and value their services very highly.

We presented testimony against HB 2159 in the House Health and Human Services Committee. Our concerns focused on issues of care fragmentation and quality of care for our patients.

Under current law, PTs may only initiate treatment under certain limited conditions, by a physician or certain other health care providers. One of our major initiatives - and that of the state of Kansas,- is the Patient Centered Medical Home (PCMH) which involves primary care-based redesign of a practice to emphasize team-based care and coordination of patient-centered care across the health care spectrum. The model has been shown to provide both higher quality care and lower health care costs. We are currently piloting the PCMH in eight practices across the state.

Amendments subsequent to the House hearing have made the bill less objectionable. At this time, we do not oppose it; nor do we endorse it.

Thank you again for the opportunity to provide testimony.

President Deborah S Clements MD FAAFP KS City

President-Elect

Vice President

Christian Cupp MD Scott City

Mary Beth Miller MD St Francis

Secretary Douglas J Gruenbacher MD Quinter

Todd A Miller MD Wichita **Board Chair** Jennifer L Brull MD Plainville

Delegates Carol A Johnson MD Bel Aire Michael L Munger MD Overland Park

Alternate Delegates Joe D Davison MD Wichita Michael L Kennedy MD Kansas City Directors

Jennifer Bacani McKenney MD Fredonia Sheryl Beard MD Wichita Michael Engelken MD Topeka John Feehan MD Olathe I vnn Fisher MD Plainville Wakon Fowler MD Pratt

Cavle Goertzen MD Belleville Elizabeth Hineman MD Scott City Hannah Maxfield MD Kansas City Diane Steere MD Wichita

Resident Voting Representative Executive Director Nathan Krug MD Wichita

Student Voting Representative Colleen Loo-Gross Wichita

Foundation President Carol A Johnson MD Bel Aire

Carolyn N Gaughan CAE Wichita

7570 W. 21st St. N. Bldg. 1046, Suite C | Wichita, KS 67205 | 316.721.9005 | 1.800.658.1749 | Fax 316.721.9044 | kafp@kafponline.org