Approved: <u>January 19, 2011</u>
Date

MINUTES OF THE SENATE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Jean Schodorf at 1:30 p.m. on January 18, 2011, in Room 152-S of the Capitol.

All members were present.

Committee staff present:

Sharon Wenger, Kansas Legislative Research Department Laura Younker, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jason Long, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Eunice Peters, Office of the Revisor of Statutes Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas Department of Education Dorothy Gerhardt, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

Curtis Chandler, Wamego Middle School, #320-Wamego Nikki M. Chamberlain, Salina South High School, #305-Salina Kim A. Morrissey, Dodge Literacy Magnet Elementary School, #259-Wichita Holly R. Schreiber, Belmont Elementary School, #232-DeSoto C. Dow Tate, Shawnee Mission East High School, #512-Shawnee Mission Jodi A. Testa, Lincoln Elementary School, #475-Geary County Lu Anne Vides, El Dorado Middle School, #490-El Dorado Linda G. Wiersma, Sunflower Elementary School, #368-Paola

Others attending:

See attached list.

Kansas Teacher of the Year Program

Dale Dennis, Deputy Commissioner, Kansas Department of Education, introduced each of the teachers recognized as 2011 Teachers of the Year in the Kansas Teacher of the Year Program sponsored by the Kansas Department of Education. (<u>Attachment 1</u>)

Curtis Chandler, Wamego Middle School, #320-Wamego Nikki M. Chamberlain, Salina South High School, #305-Salina Kim A. Morrissey, Dodge Literacy Magnet Elementary School, #259-Wichita Holly R. Schreiber, Belmont Elementary School, #232-DeSoto C. Dow Tate, Shawnee Mission East High School, #512-Shawnee Mission Jodi A. Testa, Lincoln Elementary School, #475-Geary County Lu Anne Vides, El Dorado Middle School, #490-El Dorado Linda G. Wiersma, Sunflower Elementary School, #368-Paola

Each of the recognized teachers gave a short presentation regarding their experience and challenges in the field of education. A question and answer session followed.

The next meeting is scheduled for January 19, 2011.

The meeting was adjourned at 02:25 p.m.