## MINUTES OF THE SENATE REAPPORTIONMENT COMMITTEE

The Chairman called the meeting to order at 12:00 P.M. on February 1, 2012, in Room 159-S of the Capitol.

All members were present, except Senator Ostmeyer, who was excused

## Committee staff present:

Corey Carnahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Craig Callahan, Kansas Legislative Research Department Reed Holwegner, Kansas Legislative Research Department Jason Long, Office of Revisor of Statutes Theresa Kiernan, Committee Assistant

Conferees appearing before the Committee:

None

Others Attending:

See Attached List

The Chairperson drew the Committee's attention to written testimony submitted by the Mayor of the city of McPherson, Thomas Brown (<u>Attachment 1</u>). Mayor Brown expressed support for placing McPherson County within the 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District.

The Chairperson asked for Committee discussion on **SB 344–Congressional redistricting**.

Senator Kelsey moved, Senator Hensley seconded, that SB 344 be passed.

Senator Vratil made a substitute motion, Senator Teichman seconded, that **SB** 344 be amended to reflect the map drawn in Sunflower 9aaa.

Senator Vratil stated the only significant differences between <u>SB 344</u> and Sunflower 9aaa are: The location of Edward, Kiowa, Comanche, Stafford, Pratt and Barber counties within the 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District rather than the 4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District; and the location of McPherson County within the 4th Congressional District rather than the 1st Congressional District. He stated those six rural counties shared a stronger community of interest with the 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District than with the 4th Congressional District.

The Chairman stated his preference for <u>SB 344</u>. He noted that under Sunflower 9aaa, Wabaunsee County is moved from the 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District to the 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District. He added that testimony had been submitted requesting that Wabaunsee, Riley and Pottawatomie Counties be located within the same Congressional District, which this map does not accomplish.

## CONTINUATION SHEET

MINUTES OF THE Senate Reapportionment Committee at 12:00 P.M. on February 1, 2012, in Room 159-S of the Capitol.

The substitute motion failed.

Senator Petersen distributed a map designated as Great State 1 (Attachment 2).

Senator Petersen made a substitute motion, Senator Wagle seconded, that **SB** 344 be amended to reflect the map designated as Great State 1.

Senator Petersen stated the map maintains the existing shapes of the current Congressional Districts. It would split Topeka and Shawnee County between the 1<sup>st</sup> and 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional Districts, but it recognized a community of interest shared by KU, KSU and PSU by locating those universities in the 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District.

Senator Haley expressed concern that the proposal was arriving so late in the process.

Senator Kelsey stated he could not support the magnitude of changes without having the opportunity to hear from the residents of Shawnee County.

Senator McGinn expressed opposition to Great State 1. She stated that Harvey County is part of the Metropolitan Statistical Area of Sedgwick County. The map would take Harvey County out of the 4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District.

Senator Hensley also expressed opposition to Great State 1. He stated that there is no greater community of interest than the community of interest shared by the residents of a city of the first class and this map does not consider that community of interest.

Senator Wagle expressed support of Great State 1. She stated it keeps Manhattan and Riley County within the 2<sup>nd</sup> Congressional District and keeps Montgomery County within the 4<sup>th</sup> Congressional District.

The Chairperson expressed concern with the breadth of the 1<sup>st</sup> Congressional District. He also stated opposition to dividing Topeka and Shawnee county as well as dividing Miami county between Congressional Districts.

*The substitute motion failed.* 

Senator Kelsey called for the question.

The motion to pass **SB** 344 was adopted.

Senators Teichman, Wagle and Petersen voted no and asked that their votes be so recorded.

Meeting adjourned at 1:00 P.M. The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday February 8, 2012.