SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO.

By Senators Morris, Abrams, Apple, Bruce, Brungardt, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Haley, Hensley, Holland, Huntington, Kelly, Kelsey, King, Kultala, Lee, Longbine, Love, Lynn, Marshall, Masterson, McGinn, Merrick, Olson, Ostmeyer, Owens, Petersen, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Reitz, Schmidt, Schodorf, Steineger, Taddiken, Teichman, Umbarger, Vratil and Wagle A CONCURENT RESOLUTION congratulating the State of Kansas on the Sesquicentennial of its Admission to the Union of the United States of America.

WHEREAS, On January 29, 1861, President James Buchanan signed the bill admitting Kansas to the Union as the 34th state of the United States of America; and

WHEREAS, While on his inaugural journey to Washington, D.C. to take the oath of office, President-elect Abraham Lincoln raised the 34-star flag over Independence Hall in Philadelphia on February 22, 1861, to commemorate Kansas' entry into the Union; and

WHEREAS, On January 29, 2011, the great Sunflower State of Kansas will celebrate its 150th anniversary of statehood; and

WHEREAS, Kansas has the proud distinction of being founded for the cause of the abolition of slavery; and

WHEREAS, Kansas was inhabited long before it became a state and was named for the Kansa Native American tribe; and

WHEREAS, Kansas was at the center of the wagon trails heading west and benefited from the resulting diverse population that settled and prospered on our verdant plains; and

WHEREAS, Kansas has been at the forefront of history in striving for equality and greater rights for all peoples; and

WHEREAS, Kansas ranchers and farmers established an industry that continues to sustain the nation; and

WHEREAS, Kansas' innovative and entrepreneurial spirit has made the state a leader in aviation, education, medicine, the biosciences, energy and alternative energies; and

WHEREAS, Kansans have bravely and honorably served the country in the military since the Civil War; and

WHEREAS, Many notable Kansans have placed the state in the national spotlight, including George Washington Carver, Charles Curtis, Robert J. Dole, Amelia Earhart, Dwight D. Eisenhower, Langston Hughes, Gordon Parks and William Allen White, to name but a very few; and

WHEREAS, The people of the Sunflower State are greatly admired for their resilience, character and many accomplishments throughout the past one hundred fifty years, and congratulations and best wishes are extended to them: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas, the House of Representatives concurring therein: That the citizenry of the state of Kansas be congratulated and the state's sesquicentennial celebrated for the progress, prosperity and fulfillment of their loftiest aspirations in the century ahead; and

Be it further resolved: That we recognize the historic impact of the sesquicentennial celebration and the significance of our great state to the citizens of Kansas and the United States of America; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of State be directed to send one enrolled copy of this resolution to the Kansas Historical Society, one enrolled copy to Senate President Morris and one enrolled copy to Speaker O'Neal of the Kansas House of Representatives.