Controlled Substances (Also see Senate Sub. for HB 2049)

Due to errors in the signed HB 2023, Senate Sub. for HB 2049 was enacted to correct the errors (See Senate Sub. for HB 2049).

HB 2023 amends KSA 65-4105, 65-4107, 65-4109, 65-4111, and 65-4113, which govern the scheduling of controlled substances, to bring Kansas' law into agreement with the federal schedule. Specifically, the bill adds to the list of controlled substances included in:

- Schedule I: 4-Bromo-2,5-dimethoxyphenetylamine; 2,5-dimethoxy-4-(n)-propylthiopenenthylamine (2C-7); Alpha-methyltryptamine, aka AMT; and 5-methoxy-N, N-diisopropyltryptamine (5-MeO-DIPT).
- Schedule II: Dihydroetorphine; Oripavine; Remifentanil; Tapentadol; and Lisdexamfetamine.
- Schedule III: Embutramide, and any material, compound, mixture, or preparation containing Buprenorphine, which was previously a schedule V controlled substance.
- Schedule IV: Dichloralphenazone; Fospropofol; and Zopiclone.
- Schedule V: Lacosamide (R)-2-acetoamido-N-benzyl-3-methoxy-propionamide, and Pregabalin (S)-3-(aminomethyl)-5-methylhexanoic acid.