## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1829

A Resolution recognizing the Kansas Small Business Development Center's 2010 Businesses of the Year.

WHEREAS, The mission of the Kansas Small Business Development Center (KSBDC) is to increase the economic prosperity in Kansas by helping entrepreneurs and small business owners start and grow their businesses through professional consulting, training and resources; and

WHEREAS, The KSBDC regional directors and staff select up to eight Emerging Business of the Year award recipients and up to eight Existing Business of the Year award recipients; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Small Business Development Center's Business of the Year awards are designed to recognize KSBDC clients for superior performance; and

WHEREAS, Existing Business of the Year Award recipients have achieved major accomplishments, overcome significant obstacles, shown growth and demonstrated good corporate citizenship through community contributions; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 KSBDC Emerging Businesses of the Year are The New Breck, in Americus, Kansas, owned by Jena Johnson and Doug Disney; Couture for Men in Hays, Kansas, owned by Leland Olive; Accelacare Physical Therapy in Garden City, Kansas, owned by Wes and Amy Wickwar; The Next Step in Lenexa, Kansas, owned by John L. White; Audio/Video Concepts in Ottawa, Kansas, owned by Shawn Markley; SayCheez PhotoBooth in Topeka, Kansas, owned by Scott and Nikki Lewien; Thiessen-Elise Salon in Salina, Kansas, owned by John and Amber Klassen; and

WHEREAS, The 2010 KSBDC Existing Businesses of the Year are Granada Coffee Company in Emporia, Kansas, owned by Rocky Slaymaker and managed by Bev Beers; T&C Manufacturing & Operating, Inc. in Great Bend, Kansas, owned by Craig Pangburn and Thomas McGlinn; Fleener Funeral Home in Greensburg, Kansas, owned by J. Wynn Fleener; Weather or Not, Inc. in Shawnee, Kansas, owned by Sara Croke; Printpop.com in Lawrence, Kansas, owned by Devin Walker and Ladd Epp; TLC Garden Center in LaHarpe, Kansas, owned by Savanna Flory; Lifetime Eye Care in Holton, Kansas, owned by Dr. Leslie Gallagher and Dr. Nicole Meerpohl; Intake Studio in Wichita, Kansas, owned by Troy Lott, Roberta Feist, Heath Balderson and Todd Schwartz; and

WHEREAS, The KSBDC Businesses of the Year serve as examples of the success that the KSBDC and small business owners across Kansas can achieve: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the Kansas Small Business Development Center's 2010 Emerging and Existing Businesses of the Year and wish all of them and the KSBDC continued success in the future; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate shall be directed to send 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Holland.

Senate Resolution No. 1829 was sponsored by Senators Abrams, Apple, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Hensley, Holland, Kelly, Kelsey, Kultala, Masterson, Owens, Petersen, Schodorf, Teichman, Umbarger and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution o	riginated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
-	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.