SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1707

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Shawnee Mission West High School Football Team on winning the 2012 Kansas 6A State football championship.

WHEREAS, The Shawnee Mission West High School football team won the 2012 Kansas 6A State championship with a 19-14 victory over Hutchinson High School on November 24, 2012, in Topeka, KS; and

WHEREAS, This championship is the first state football title the Shawnee Mission West Vikings have won since 1985; and

WHEREAS, The Vikings, led by Coach Callaghan, finished the 2012 season with a remarkable record of 12-1; and

WHEREAS, The members of the championship team are: Joey Reed, Jaunyae Stallings, Kenny McKenzie, Raymond Cherry, Alec Dinges, Javier Lara Salgado, Shane Hutsell, Ben Lake, Dom Tuma, Cooper Arner, Chris Garcia, Ronnie Thompson, Rob Rice, Jordan Neff, A.J. Verdini, P.D. Delaney, Kez Demby, Javin Austin, Isaiah Macklin, Brett Sterbach, Bryce Taylor, Andre Maloney, Asher Goldston, Carredyn Steele, Jordan Dillard, Jerayle Christopher, D'Ante Walker, Tory Powell, Steffon Ward, Alexander Martin, Rashaun Owens, Andre Pettit, Quinn Harrold, Lee Spight, Tanner Clark, Max Bullard, Marquan Osbey, Tyler Haley, Ryan Cheshire, Aaron Brown, Matt Spellman, Isaac Lopez, Nigel Baselle, Mark Stapleton, Carter Pembridge, Austin Chambers, Joel Spiller, D.J. Hobbs, Mitchell Wade, and Austin Dvorak; and

WHEREAS, Coach Callaghan just finished his tenth year coaching the Shawnee Mission West Viking football team. This championship marks Callaghan's second appearance in the 6A State football championship game, with his first appearance being in 2006, also against the Hutchinson High Salthawks. Coach Callaghan was named 2012 Chiefs Kansas High School Coach of the Year, and also received the Coach of the Week award from the Chiefs after the Vikings' victory over rival Shawnee Mission East High School: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Shawnee Mission West High School football team and Coach Callaghan for winning the 2012 Kansas 6A State football championship. Their hard work and athleticism are points of pride for their families, school and the Shawnee Mission community. We wish the athletes and Coach Callaghan continued success on and off the football field; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide three enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Smith.

Senate Resolution No. 1707 was sponsored by Senator Greg Smith. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that	
body	
	President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.