SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1713

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Vanguard class, 2014 graduating class of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science.

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the State of Kansas enacted legislation in 2006 authorizing the establishment of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science to promote mathematics and science education, increase retention of intellectual capital and promote economic development; and

WHEREAS, The Legislature of the State of Kansas approved five years of funding for the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in 2008; and

WHEREAS, Fort Hays State University is a forward-thinking liberal and applied arts university, and is recognized internationally for offering more than 60 degrees in a technology-rich environment. Fort Hays State University aggressively seeks innovative solutions to meet the educational needs of Kansans and enhance the economic future of the state; and

WHEREAS, The State Board of Regents selected Fort Hays State University as the site to host the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in 2007; and

WHEREAS, Fort Hays State University was able to establish the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science in a single year, allowing Kansas to become the 16th state in the country with an academic early-entry-to-college program offering a unique residential learning experience for high-achieving high school juniors and seniors who are academically talented in science and mathematics; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science provides a unique, hands-on, rigorous research environment with PhD. faculty that focuses on academics, research, leadership development and civic engagement allowing Fort Hays State University to cultivate future citizen-leaders; and

WHEREAS, Graduates of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science receive a high school diploma and 68 hours of college credit; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 graduates of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science are: Elliot Bicker, Hiawatha; Michael Cory, Wichita; Alexander Crider, Wichita; Samuel DeVore, Lyons; Abigail Dishman, Topeka; Mason Gates, Manhattan; Rachel Hasch, Concordia; Gabriel Horton, Topeka; Jonathan Howard, Peru; Eleanor Justin, Overland Park; MinYoung Kim, Gwangju Metropolitan, Korea; Abigail Ladner, Lawrence; DongHee Lee, Seoul, South Korea; Brad Leupold, Hiawatha; Elizabeth Lewis, Lawrence; Morgan Linder, Baldwin City; Alexa Melvin, Topeka; Morgan Murray, Shawnee; Nathaniel Nehring, Wamego; Pratik Patel, Salina; Amber Perdew, Goodland; Quincy Rayls, Topeka; Garrett Redden, Glasco; Laura Rook, Junction City; Christopher Siegle, Council Grove; Briana Singleton, Wichita; Arynne Smallback, Topeka; Tyler Standley, Nickerson; Adam Stenson, Olathe; Tanner Swartz, Alexander; BreAnna Terry, Wichita; Justin Weaver, Benton; Codie Webster, Olsburg; Shelby Young, Chapman; Tianhao Yu, Beijing, China; and Junyu Zhang, Anshun Guizhon, China: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2014 graduates of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science; we wish them continued success in their academic and personal pursuits and encourage them to use their significant gifts to improve the future of their home state; and

Be it further resolved: That the members of the Kansas Senate express gratitude to the educators and support staff who, through their own dedication and commitment to excellence in education in the fields of mathematics and science, have brought this program to fruition through the successes of each graduating class. Their efforts are helping to forge the future for the State of Kansas; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 42 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science for forwarding to each of the 2014 graduates of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Kansas Academy of Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director of the Mathematics and Science plus six copies for the Director plus six copies for the

Senate Resolution No.1713 was sponsored by Senator Terry Bruce.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.