SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1717

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2013 Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and the Kansas Cable Telecommunications Association, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program, currently in its 11th year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for the Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Kebra Claiborne, Americus Elementary School, North Lyon County USD 251; Sara Goldsby, Heusner Elementary School, Salina USD 305; Katherine Hughes, McPherson Middle School, McPherson USD 418; Jennifer Love, Roosevelt Elementary School, McPherson USD 418; Zana Manche, Goessel High School, Goessel USD 411; Jesse Peters, Susan B. Anthony Middle School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Brandi Rayl, Faris Elementary School, Hutchinson USD 308; Valerie Thomison, Prairie Heights Middle School, Morris County USD 417; and

Region 2: Ashley Clark, Sunflower Elementary School, Paola USD 368; Tanay Forsberg, Rochester Elementary School, Seaman USD 345; James Gilpin, Erie High School, Erie-Galesburg USD 101; Phillip Kuchar, Prairie View Middle School, Prairie View USD 362; Sandra Martinie, McCune Attendance Center, Cherokee USD 247; Scott Peavey, Tonganoxie High School, Tonganoxie USD 464; Madison Shipley, Washburn Rural High School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Whitney Waters, Pauline Central Primary School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; and

Region 3: Lindsey Demke, Shawnee Mission Northwest High School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Dr. Christopher Jenson, Blue Valley Southwest High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Alyssa Meyer, Mill Valley High School, De Soto USD 232; Jennifer Mitchell, Wyandotte High School, Kansas City USD 500; Kayla Rausin, Gardner Elementary School, Gardner-Edgerton USD 231; Andrea Reinhard, Indian Valley Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Jason Utlaut, Bonner Springs Elementary School, Bonner Springs USD 204; Kody Willnauer, Regency Place Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; and

Region 4: Jennifer Cole, Clark Davidson Elementary School, Goddard USD 265; Nichole Jensen, Andale Elementary/Middle School, Renwick USD 267; Hope Kessinger, Andover Central High School, Andover USD 385; Erin Lewis, El Paso Elementary School, Derby USD 260; Sarah McDaniel, Wichita High School South, Wichita USD 259; Jason Ramey, Pray-Woodman Elementary School, Maize USD 266; Brianna Reyes, Valley Center Middle School, Valley Center USD 262; Betsy Robb, Maize South Middle School, Maize USD 266: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2013 Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 32 copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1717 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.