SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1723

A Resolution congratulating the Emporia High School debate team on its 5A state championship.

WHEREAS, The Emporia High School debate team was named the four-speaker state champion at the class 5A State Debate Tournament in early January 2013; and

WHEREAS, The Emporia High School debate team was formed in 1915 and just finished its 98th year of scholastic debate competition; and

WHEREAS, The members of the four-speaker team were Will Kraft, Brandon Schrader, Barbara Haynes, Talia Smith, Elijah Williams, and Shaun Hruza; and

WHEREAS, The team's coach, Scott Bonnet, has worked diligently with the team all year to enhance the team's skills and prepare them through the debate season and into the tournament; and

WHEREAS, The resolution for this year's high school debate season was "Resolved: The United States federal government should substantially increase its transportation infrastructure investment in the United States"; and

WHEREAS, Debating relevant and timely topics helps high school students gain an appreciation for current events and the ability to see an important issue from both sides: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Emporia High School debate team on its class 5A state four-speaker debate championship. This is a great accomplishment for the debate team and Emporia High School; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide eight enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

Senate Resolution No. 1723 was sponsored by Senator Jeff Longbine.

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.