SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1735

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Washburn Rural High School women's volleyball team on winning the class 6A state championship.

WHEREAS, The Washburn Rural High School women's volleyball team won the class 6A state title for 2012; and

WHEREAS, The 2012 Washburn Rural High School women's volleyball team has seen a lot of success this season. During the 2012 season the team was also named the Fayetteville, Arkansas Tournament champions, Derby Tournament champions, Emporia Tournament champions, undefeated Centennial League champions, and 6A sub-state champions;

WHEREAS, The Washburn Rural High School women's volleyball team has won 16 straight sub-state championships. They have also had 14 consecutive 6A state final four appearances and 11 consecutive top three 6A state finishes. The Washburn Rural volleyball team has been named state champions seven out of the last nine years, and the overall record of this year's senior class is 162-16; and

WHEREAS, The members of the team include Morgan Hutchinson, Paige Cunningham, Emma Reeves, Savannah Moore, Courtney Winkley, Kadie Baumgardner, Alyssa Carney, Melissa Cushing, Emma Eickhoff, Erika Lane, McKenzie Johnson, and Sarah Vicory; and

WHEREAS, Head coach, Kevin Bordewick, was named the Centennial League Coach of the Year and the 6A State Coach of the Year. He, along with assistant coach, Nikki Noe Gilliland, have worked hard with this year's volleyball team, improving the team's skills and ultimately leading it to the 2012 class 6A state championship: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Washburn Rural High School women's volleyball team on its 2012 class 6A state championship victory. The team's successful year and strong tradition of success in the past will be celebrated by the Washburn Rural community; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide 17 enrolled copies of this resolution to Washburn Rural High School women's volleyball team; Coaches Kevin Bordewick and Nikki Noe Gilliland; Superintendent, Dr. Brenda Dietrich; Principal, Ed Ranies and Athletic Director, Penny Lane.

Senate Resolution No.1735 was sponsored by Senator Vicki Schmidt.

I hereby certify that the above Resbody	OLUTION originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.