SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1744

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Wichita South High School women's basketball team on its class 6A state championship.

WHEREAS, The Wichita South High School women's basketball team won the class 6A state title for 2013; and

WHEREAS, This is the first state title the Wichita South High School women's basketball team has won since 1978. The women defeated the Wichita Heights High School women's basketball team with a score of 46-44; and

WHEREAS, Members of this year's Wichita South High School women's basketball team include Kendrian Elliott, Rachala Ross, Brionna Ross, Eledria Franklin, Ericka Mattingly, Ashlynd Horton, Princess Alcaraz, Kirea Rogers, Patriece Dodson, Madison Northcutt, Sydni James and Kiera Broehl. The team managers were Ogechi Odunze, Dadreona Tramble, Bria Russell and Felicia Papamie; and

WHEREAS, The team's coach, Antwain Scales, along with assistant coaches, Heidi Dreiling and Wayne Riddle, worked diligently with this year's team, improving the team's skills and ultimately leading them to the 2013 class 6A state championship: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Wichita South High School women's basketball team on its class 6A state championship. These young women have worked hard throughout the season, and this state title is a testament to that hard work; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Petersen.

Senate Resolution No. 1744 was sponsored by Senators Petersen, Donovan, Faust-Goudeau, Kerschen, McGinn, O'Donnell, V. Schmidt and Wagle.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.