SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1752

A Resolution congratulating the Ottawa High School men's basketball team on its class 4A state championship.

WHEREAS, The Ottawa High School men's basketball team won the class 4A state basketball championship against Highland Park High School; and

WHEREAS, The game took place at the Bicentennial Center in Salina. Ottawa won the game 54-45; and

WHEREAS, The Ottawa High School men's basketball team went undefeated this season with a record of 25-0. This is the first state championship for the high school in 41 years; and

WHEREAS, The seniors on the team began their playing careers with undefeated seasons as both 7th and 8th graders at Ottawa Middle School; and

WHEREAS, The Ottawa High School men's basketball team is also academically successful. They have an overall GPA of 3.62 and an average ACT score of 22; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach, Jon McKowen, and Assistant Coaches, Evan Shaffer, Blake Lasley, Rob Hedrick and Ian Mathews worked diligently with the team throughout the season to improve their skills and lead them to the state championship game; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 2013 Ottawa High School men's basketball team were Semi Ojeleye, Kaden Shaffer, Wyatt Peters, Dillon Boeh, Jordan Markley, Austin Blaue, Alex Hasty, Dallas Natt, Taylor Graf, Tyler Smith and Quentin Blaue. Semi Ojeleye currently holds the Kansas state scoring record at 2,763 points. The team managers were Alexis Dunnivan, Steph Brands, Erika Doty and Nate Rodriguez: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the 2013 Ottawa High School men's basketball team on its class 4A state championship. These young men have worked very hard throughout the season, and this state championship is a testament to that hard work; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate be directed to provide five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Tyson.

Senate Resolution No. 1752 was sponsored by Senator Caryn Tyson. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.