SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1766

A Resolution congratulating Wichita State University on a successful year in NCAA inter-collegiate athletics.

WHEREAS, Wichita State University has had an outstanding year in NCAA intercollegiate athletic competition, including impressive seasons in men's basketball, women's basketball, women's volleyball, men's golf, women's tennis, and men's tennis; and

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University men's basketball team won a school record 30 games and advanced to the NCAA Tournament Final Four for the first time since 1965. Coach Gregg Marshall was honored as the Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season, and seniors Malcolm Armstead and Carl Hall were named as the West Regional Most Outstanding Player and to the All-Tournament Team, respectively; and

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University women's basketball team had its most successful season in program history, capturing its first regular season and Missouri Valley Conference tournament championships. WSU earned a trip to the NCAA Tournament for the first time and set a school record with 24 victories. Jody Adams earned Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year honors; and

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University women's volleyball team advanced to its first NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 in school history with junior Chelsey Feekin and senior Emily Adney named All-Americans by the American Volleyball Coaches Association; and

WHEREAS, The Wichita State University men's golf team won the Missouri Valley Conference championship for the sixth straight year. The Wichita State women's tennis team won their fifth consecutive regular season and tournament championships under the leadership of coach Colin Foster. The Wichita State men's tennis team upset No. 27 Drake University in the finals of the Missouri Valley Conference Tournament to win their second Missouri Valley Conference championship: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate Wichita State University on such an outstanding year in NCAA inter-collegiate athletic competition. Their hard work and dedication has made the state of Kansas proud, and we wish them success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate provide twelve enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator McGinn.

Senate Resolution No. 1766 was sponsored by Senators McGinn, Abrams, Apple, Arpke, Bowers, Bruce, Denning, Donovan, Emler, Faust-Goudeau, Fitzgerald, Francisco, Haley, Hawk, Hensley, Holland, Holmes, Kelly, Kerschen, King, Knox, LaTurner, Longbine, Love, Lynn, Masterson, Melcher, O'Donnell, Olson, Ostmeyer, Petersen, Pettey, Powell, Pyle, V. Schmidt, Smith, Tyson, Wagle and Wolf.

I hereby certify that the above Rethat body	esolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by
	Don't and a Calor Country
	President of the Senate. Secretary of the Senate.