SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1786

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2014 Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and the Kansas Cable Telecommunications Association, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program, currently in its 12th year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for the Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Megan Berry, Abilene High School, Abilene USD 435; Katrina Goscha, McPherson High School, McPherson USD 418; Valerie Harris, Central Elementary School, Goodland USD 352; Allison MacGill, Northview Elementary School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Robyn Myers, Roosevelt Elementary School, McPherson USD 418; Sarah Samuelson, Comanche Middle School, Dodge City USD 443; Trisha Spears, Central Elementary School, Wamego USD 320; Anna Voth, Salina High School Central, Salina USD 305; and

Region 2: Hillary Armstrong, Washburn Rural Middle School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; Christina Black, LaCygne Elementary School, Prairie View USD 362; Clark Boatright, Robinson Middle School, Topeka USD 501; Katie Chenoweth, Basehor Elementary School, Basehor-Linwood USD 458; Kerby Cornett, Eugene Field Elementary School, Ottawa USD 290; Matt Kleopfer, Iola High School, Iola USD 257; Noah Musser, Eudora High School, Eudora USD 491; Alex Toepfer, Washburn Rural High School, Auburn Washburn USD 437; and

Region 3: Brittany Gonser, Turner Elementary School, Turner USD 202; Colby Heckathorne, Starside Elementary School, De Soto USD 232; Lauren Knoepfler, Regency Place Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Adam Lundine, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Kassy Miller, Louisburg Middle School, Louisburg USD 416; Jenny Prater, F. L. Schlagle High School, Kansas City USD 500; Hilary Riggle, Indian Trail Middle School, Olathe USD 233; Alix Lea Santa Maria, Stanley Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; and

Region 4: Kaitlyn Jilka, Lincoln Elementary School, Augusta USD 402; Amanda Leighton, Valley Center High School, Valley Center USD 262; Kevin Roulhac, Maize High School, Maize USD 266; Kristina Sims, Maize Central Elementary School, Maize USD 266; Roxana Smith, Andover Central Middle School, Andover USD 385; Elizabeth Wall, Lowell Elementary School, Winfield USD 465; Nathan Whitman, Burrton High School, Burrton USD 369; Renicia Yoder, Northridge Elementary School, Newton USD 373: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2014 Kansas Cable Telecommunications Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 32 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1786 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.