SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1788

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2013 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Twenty-six of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 20, 2014; and

WHEREAS, The 2013 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Susan Bloom, Washington Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Gregory Bonsignore, all K-5 elementary schools, Lawrence USD 497; Jennifer Dugan, Oxford Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Vanessa Fernandez-Loffredo, Overland Trail Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Leanne Geanes, Stilwell Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Charles Golden, Blue Valley Northwest High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Natalie Johnson-Berry, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Inshin Kim, Topeka High School, Topeka USD 501; Stephanie Liberman, Silver City Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Kelli Miller, Harry Street Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Sara Mochel, Arbor Creek Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Lisa Nocita, Prairie Star Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Sara Ott, Marshall Middle School, Wichita USD 259; Matthew Peterie, Olathe Northwest High School, Olathe USD 233; Crystal Rankin, Westwood Elementary School, Geary County USD 475; Kim Rehagen, Overland Trail Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Jennifer Robinson, Oxford Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Dr. Lucas Shivers, Manhattan High School-East, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Kimberly Urenda, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Tara Walrod, Sunrise Point Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Amy Washington, Wolf Creek Elementary School, Spring Hill USD 230; Randi Weller, Clay Center Community Middle School, Clay USD 379; Helen Windhorst, Emerson Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Kelly Wouthtiwongprecha, Pleasant Ridge Middle School, Blue Valley USD 229; Cynthia Younger, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley USD 229; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board of Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 26 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1788 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams.

hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body			
			President of the Senate.
			Secretary of the Senate.