SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1803

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2014 Kansas Master Teachers.

WHEREAS, Seven of the state's best teachers have been selected as Kansas Master Teachers for 2014. These seven outstanding educators will be honored on Wednesday, April 2, with a day of receptions, seminars and tours at the sponsoring institution, Emporia State University; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 Kansas Master Teachers are Bonnie Austin, a secondary instructional coach at Dodge City High School in Dodge City; John V. Bode, a third-grade teacher at New York Elementary School in Lawrence; Lori Gunzelman, a seventh-grade math teacher at Andover Central Middle School in Andover; Signe Truelove, a special education teacher at Emporia Middle School in Emporia; Carla Varner, a fifth-grade teacher at Lincoln Elementary School in El Dorado; Kathleen Wilhite, a retired math teacher at Olathe South High School in Olathe; and Maria Worthington, an English Language Arts teacher at Blue Valley North High School in Overland Park; and

WHEREAS, Emporia State University established the Kansas Master Teacher Awards in 1954. The awards are presented annually to teachers who have served the profession long and well and who also exemplify the outstanding qualities of earnest and conscientious teachers; and

WHEREAS, Since 1980, Bank of America has pledged more than \$100,000 to permanently endow the Kansas Master Teacher Awards. In 1984, the Black family of Broken Bow, Oklahoma, established an endowed chair for Kansas Master Teachers. The fund provides a stipend to bring two Master Teachers to Emporia State University for part of a semester. During this time, the teachers present to classes of education students; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Senate recognize the invaluable contribution of great teachers such as those being honored here today. These 2014 Kansas Master Teachers serve as mentors and role models and lay the groundwork for the best educators of tomorrow. They go above and beyond what is expected and offer inspiration along with instruction. They teach with heart a

nd soul. By giving the best of themselves, they encourage students to give their best in return; and

WHEREAS, Local teacher associations, educational organizations and school faculties nominate candidates for the awards. A committee representing educational organizations from across Kansas selected the 2014 winners: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we offer our heartfelt thanks to these extraordinary educators – these teachers who face so many challenges in the classroom each day, yet persevere, choosing the satisfaction of doing their best and overcoming the frustrations inherent in their jobs; that we congratulate and commend the seven 2014 Kansas Master Teachers for demonstrating excellence in their profession and devotion to the children of Kansas and extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall provide seven enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Longbine.

Senate Resolution No. 1803 was sponsored by Senators Longbine, Francisco, Love, Masterson, Melcher and Olson.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.