SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1815

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Wichita South High School women's basketball team on its second consecutive class 6A state championship.

WHEREAS, The Wichita South High School women's basketball team won the class 6A state title for the second year in a row, winning the title in 2013 and 2014; and

WHEREAS, The Wichita South High School women's basketball team defeated Maize High School with a score of 47-35; and

WHEREAS, The team has an impressive 24-1 record for this season and a remarkable 48-2 record in the past two seasons; and

WHEREAS, Members of this year's Wichita South High School women's basketball team include Kendrian Elliott, Rachala Ross, Eledria Franklin, Mauri Scales, Ericka Mattingly, Princess Alcaraz, Kyla Callins, Kirea Rogers, Patriece Dodson, Madison Northcutt, Sydni James, Alexis Beard and Kaela Whitfield. The team managers were Ogechi Odunze and Kayla Graf; and

WHEREAS, The team's coach, Antwain Scales, along with assistant coaches Heidi Dreiling and Wayne Riddle, worked diligently with this year's team to maintain their successful record, ultimately leading them to the 2014 class 6A state championship: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Wichita South High School women's basketball team on its class 6A state championship. These young women have worked hard over the past two seasons and this second consecutive state title is a testament to that hard work; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Petersen.

Senate Resolution No. 1815 was sponsored by Senator Mike Petersen.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.