## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1710**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Rossville High School football team.

WHEREAS, The Rossville High School football team is the 2014 Class 3A undefeated State Champion; and

WHEREAS, The Bulldawgs, coached by head coach Derick Hammes, finished the season with a record of 14 wins and 0 losses and won its first ever state championship with a 21-14 victory over Scott Community High School. The road to 2014 3A state championship was filled with some of Kansas' best small class football programs. In the regular season, Rossville defended and won its second consecutive Mid East League championship with an unblemished record. The playoff march was equally as challenging as Rossville beat three tradition-rich programs in reaching only the 2<sup>nd</sup> state championship appearance in school history. In consecutive weeks, Rossville defeated programs from Centralia, Pittsburg and Silver Lake with coaches who have recorded multiple state championships. The victory over Silver Lake was the first post-season victory over Rossville's arch rival in school history. The state championship game marked the battle of unbeaten teams as the Bulldawgs played four-time state champion Scott City. Facing its first deficit of the season, Rossville scored 14 unanswered points in the final 8 minutes of the game to claim the victory; and

WHEREAS, The team's success was due to tremendous commitment and included several remarkable achievements. The championship team consisted of team captains Nick Reesor, Corbin Horak, Terrence Sowers, Thatcher Horak and Tucker Horak. Team members included: Trevor Balch, Paul Borcherding, Nick Brummer, Alex Cavanaugh, Kole Daveren, Ty Dick, Nathan Dohrman, Wyatt Dyche, Eric Ebert, Jared Ebert, T.J. Fiedler, Derek Gentry, Bryce Gfeller, Malcolm Gillum, Dawson Hammes, Lee Hester, Sheldon Hulbert, Chayne Hulbert, Holden Hurla, Kody Hurla, Luke Hurtig, Jerrett Ingwerson, Zach Jensen, Jordan Johnston, Caleb Lovejoy, Isaiah Luellen, Isaac Luellen, Gabe Marney, Matheus Matumoto, Reed Miller, Riley Miller, Jared Morris, Caiden Musick, Kyle Parr, Austin Ramey, Christian Roduner, Clayton Rubio, Tyler Sage, Lake Schultz-Pruner, Jack Steckel, Paul Steinke, Joao Uezono and Ethan Woodcock. The team was managed by Brianna Ebert, Riley Faulk, Chris Johnston, Remmington Wehner and Cody York. The team was coached by Dan Schneider, Jeremey Stephenson, Ian Peters and Brad Anderson; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Derick Hammes was recently named the Topeka Capital Journal State Coach of the Year, Sports in Kansas All Class Coach of the Year and the Kansas Football Coaches Association 3A Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Rossville Bulldawg football team for winning the 2014 Class 3A state football championship; and

*Be it further resolved:* That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Mr. Toby McCullough, Principal of Rossville High School.

Senate Resolution No. 1710 was sponsored by Senator Laura Kelly.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the SENATE, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.