SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1712

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2015 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators.

WHEREAS, Thirty-two beginning educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, identifies and recognizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the Kansas Horizon Award Program is to recognize exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its 13th year, allows all school districts in the state an opportunity to nominate one elementary and one secondary teacher for the award. To be eligible for the program, teachers must have successfully completed their first year of teaching and have performed in such a way as to distinguish themselves as outstanding. The Kansas Horizon Award Program is a regional competition with four regions corresponding to the state's United States congressional districts. Four elementary and four secondary classroom teachers may be selected for the award from each district; and

WHEREAS, This year's recipients are: Region 1: Collin Carlson, Salina South High School, USD 305 Salina; Leah DeTravernier, South Middle School, USD 480 Liberal; Madeline Dierking, Logan Avenue Elementary School, USD 253 Emporia; Justin Heeke, Miller Elementary School, USD 443 Dodge City; Austyn McNew, Bluemont Elementary School, USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden; Chrystiana Miller, Sheridan Elementary School, USD 475 Geary County; Maria Loewen, McPherson Middle School, USD 418 McPherson; Olga Silverman, Solomon High School, USD 393 Solomon; and

Region 2: Alyssa Buxman, Berryton Elementary School, USD 450 Shawnee Heights; Collin Eidelson, Ottawa High School, USD 290 Ottawa; Nichole Gurwell, Tonganoxie Elementary School, USD 464 Tonganoxie; Laura Hochman, South Middle School, USD 497 Lawrence; Wendy Madere, Rossville Grade School, USD 321 Kaw Valley; Jessica Otradovec, Seaman High School, USD 345 Seaman; Brittany Roper, Shawnee Heights High School, USD 450 Shawnee Heights; Hannah Rosell, Earl M. Lawson Elementary School, USD 453 Leavenworth; and

Region 3: Kelsey Bradley, Indian Valley Elementary School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Jamie Droegemeier, Spring Hill Middle School, USD 230 Spring Hill; Katherine Durick, Lakewood Middle School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Haley Epperson, Spring Hill Elementary School, USD 230 Spring Hill; Joel McGhee, Broadmoor Elementary School, USD 416 Louisburg; Taylor Newman, Prairie Ridge Elementary School, USD 232 DeSoto; Alyssa Passmore, Turner Sixth Grade Academy, USD 202 Turner; Katherine Wilber, Monticello Trails Middle School, USD 232 DeSoto; and

Region 4: Bethany Brewer, McCollom Elementary School, USD 259 Wichita; Jessica Dosser, Garfield Elementary School, USD 402 Augusta; Patrick Huddleston, Andover Central High School, USD 385 Andover; Caleb McCaffree, Ruth Clark Elementary School, USD 261 Haysville; Kathryn Richardson, Coleman Middle School, USD 259 Wichita; Grant Threlkeld, Amelia Earhart Elementary School, USD 265 Goddard; Susanna Tippett, Newton High School, USD 373 Newton; Kaitlin Woellhof, Valley Center High School, USD 262 Valley Center: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2015 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators for outstanding performance in their chosen career; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 32 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each educator so honored plus one copy to the Commissioner of Education.

| Senate Resolution No. 1712 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body | |
|---|--------------------------|
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | |
| | President of the Senate. |
| | |
| | Secretary of the Senate. |