SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1714

A Resolution congratulating and commending the 2014 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers.

WHEREAS, Eleven of Kansas' finest educators have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers. They will be recognized as such at a program on February 19, 2015; and

WHEREAS, The 2014 Kansas National Board Certified Teachers are: Stephanie Brachtenbach, Harmony Elementary School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Brenda Colwell, Blue Valley North High School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Jamie Dawson, Emporia High School, USD 253 Emporia; Trevor Goertzen, Prairie Star Middle School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Kristen Leaming, Morse Elementary School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Steve Maack, Wichita East High School, USD 259 Wichita; Michael Alan Petermann, Wamego Middle School, USD 320 Wamego; Jean Reynolds, Blue Valley North High School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Tonya Runnels, Harmony Elementary School, USD 229 Blue Valley; Nancy L. Smith, Bentwood Elementary School, USD 233 Olathe; Amy D. Wasinger, Kathryn O'Loughlin Elementary School, USD 489 Hays; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, a voluntary process established by the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards, is a symbol of professional teaching excellence. It is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practice. Through a series of assessments, teachers demonstrate their subject matter knowledge, provide evidence that they know how to teach their subjects to students most effectively and demonstrate their ability to manage and measure student learning; and

WHEREAS, The National Board of Professional Teaching Standards is an independent, nonprofit, nonpartisan and nongovernmental organization. Its mission is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; and advocating related educational reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend each of these outstanding educators who have attained the status of National Board Certified Teachers; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 11 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of the teachers so honored plus a copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1714 was sponsored by Senator Steve E. Abrams. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.