SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1721

A RESOLUTION honoring the Seaman High School Marching Band for their performance at the Valero Alamo Bowl Pre-Game Show.

WHEREAS, The Seaman High School Band is one of the finest high school bands in Kansas, having been a representative at regional, state and national performances and competitions in Kansas City, St. Louis, New York City, and in Colorado and Florida; and

WHEREAS, The band has also traveled internationally, performing in France, Germany and Switzerland; and

WHEREAS, The Marching Vikes are led by Cary Stahly, who is in his 17th year as Seaman Band Director. Under Mr. Stahly's direction, the band has grown to become one of the largest in Kansas, with over 200 students; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Stahly has previously been recognized by the Kansas Music Educators Association as Outstanding High School Band Director of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The band is also backed by two Assistant Directors, Anna Kennedy and Emory Dease, a committed support staff and dedicated parents; and

WHEREAS, While at the Valero Alamo Bowl Band Competition in December and January, the Marching Vikes were awarded 13 trophies, including Outstanding Music, Drum Major, Effect, Percussion, Auxiliary and Marching; and

WHEREAS, Having also been awarded Sweepstakes Grand Champion, Mr. Stahly and the Seaman Band were chosen to perform the pre-game show at the Alamo Bowl Game between Kansas State University and UCLA on January 2, 2015, in front of 60,000 people. This is an outstanding achievement and deserving of recognition: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Seaman High School Band and Cary Stahly for their success and look forward to their continued achievements; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Kelly.

Senate Resolution No. 1721 was sponsored by Senator Laura Kelly.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.