SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1735

A Resolution congratulating the Norton Community High School wrestling team on winning the 2015 Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Championship.

WHEREAS, The Norton Community High School wrestling team won the 2015 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Championship held at Gross Memorial Coliseum in Hays. Norton scored 118.5 points, outscoring runner-up Hoisington by 14 points; and

WHEREAS, The 2015 Norton wrestlers added another chapter to their school's history of success in wrestling, as this is Norton's third consecutive championship win and the second time they have won three championships in a row; and

WHEREAS, State medalists were:

106 pounds - Ryan Johnson, second

113 pounds – Skylar Johnson, third

152 pounds - Mike Kasson, third

182 pounds – Gavin Lively, third

145 pounds – Jared Tallent, fourth

170 pounds - Kendall Miller, fourth

195 pounds – Jordan Dole, fifth

Also competing at the state tournament were sophomore Kade Unterseher at 120 pounds, junior Weston Erbert at 138 pounds and freshman Collyn Auker at 285 pounds; and

WHEREAS, The head coach is Bill Johnson and his assistant coaches are Eric Johnson, Shane Miller and Tony Fiscus. Team managers were Lindsay Addington and Macayla Kent; and

WHEREAS, The team had the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the wrestlers' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Norton Community High School wrestling team and Coach Johnson for winning the 2015 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Championship, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1735 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.