SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1736

A RESOLUTION congratulating the Erie High School Chess Team on winning the Kansas Scholastic State Chess Championship two years in a row.

WHEREAS, On March 14, 2015, the Erie High School Chess Team was named the K-12 Team State Champions in the Kansas Scholastic State Chess Championship for the second consecutive year; and

WHEREAS, Many studies have linked scholastic chess programs to the improvement of students' scores in reading and math, as well as improved self-esteem. Chess is a powerful cognitive learning tool that engages students of all learning styles and promotes problem-solving and higher-level thinking skills; and

WHEREAS, David Semrad was the coach of the Erie High School Chess Team and members of the team included: Colton Brown, James Burch, Collin Chaney, Cade Cooper, Colby Hines, Joseph Irelan, Kaden Milner, Cody Newberry, Kaden Ptasznik, Hunter Simoncic, Payton Semrad, Wyatt Semrad, Matthew Stein and Harmon Wolken: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Erie High School Chess Team on winning the Kansas Scholastic State Chess Championship two years in a row.

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator King.

Senate Resolution No. 1736 was sponsored by Senator Jeff King.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.