## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1784

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the 2015-2016 Kansas City Kansas Community College Women's Basketball team on winning the 2016 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II Championship.

WHEREAS, The 2015-2016 Kansas City Kansas Community College (KCKCC) Women's Basketball team, the Lady Blue Devils, won the 2016 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division II Championship by beating Illinois Central with an 81-59 victory at Cavalier Gymnasium, Overland Park, Kansas, on March 19, 2016. The win marks the first time in KCKCC's history to win the Championship; and

WHEREAS, The 2016 NJCAA Division Champions are: Erin Anderson, Brooklyn Bockover, Aricca Daye, Ky'Ana French, Whitney Hazlett, Janay Jacobs, Kyliea Jarrett, Cheyenne North, Sierra Roberts, Nimo Samana, Valencia Scott, Millie Shade, Brie Tauai and Brooklyn Wagler; and

WHEREAS, The head coach is Joe McKinstry and the assistant coaches are Chamissa Anderson and Dawn Adams; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blue Devils were powered by a balanced offense that saw five players score in double figures, with Sierra Roberts leading the way with a game high of 16 points. Brooklyn Wagler tallied 15 points, while Cheyenne North and Erin Anderson each finished with 14 points. Brie Tauai came off the bench to chip in 11 points; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blue Devils shot 46.2% from the field and converted 40% of their attempts from three-point distance. The team also controlled the boards as they out-rebounded Illinois Central 48-34, with Cheyenne North leading all players with 16 rebounds and Brooklyn Wagler finishing with 10 rebounds; and

WHEREAS, The only time the Lady Blue Devils trailed in the game was at the 9:42 mark of the first quarter. After surrendering the first basket of the game, the Lady Blue Devils never looked back, as they charged forward with a 12-2 point run; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blue Devils kept the momentum into the second half and added a stifling defense to the mix, as they outscored Illinois Central 21-7 in the quarter, with the trio of Anderson, North and Roberts contributing 14 points in the period; and

WHEREAS, Despite a better second half from Illinois Central, the Lady Blue Devils maintained their advantage for the remainder of the contest, eventually pushing their lead to as much as 24 points down the stretch; and

WHEREAS, Cheyenne North was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player, Coach Joe McKinstry was named the Coach of the Tournament and Erin Anderson and Brooklyn Wagler were named to the All-Tournament Team: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the 2015-2016 Kansas City Kansas Community College Women's Basketball team on winning the 2016 National Junior College Athletic Association Division II Championship; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send enrolled copies of this resolution to Senators Haley and Pettey.

Senate Resolution No. 1784 was sponsored by Senators David Haley and Pat Pettey.  I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
-	President of the Senate.