SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1789

A Resolution congratulating the Norton Community High School wrestling team on winning the 2016 Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Championship.

WHEREAS, The Norton Community High School wrestling team won the 2016 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Championship held at Gross Memorial Coliseum in Hays. Norton scored 121 points, outscoring runner-up Rossville by four points; and

WHEREAS, The 2016 Norton wrestlers added another chapter to their school's history of successes in wrestling, as this is Norton Community High School's fourth consecutive and 15th state championship win; and

WHEREAS, The 2016 state medalists are:

113 pounds - Skylar Johnson, first

120 pounds - Ryan Johnson, fifth

145 pounds - Trenton Wright, sixth

160 pounds - Mike Kasson, first

195 pounds - Gavin Lively, first

285 pounds - Collyn Auker, fourth

Also competing at the state tournament were Kade Unterseher, at 126 pounds and Riley Hager, at 170 pounds; and

WHEREAS, The head coach is Bill Johnson and his assistant coaches are Eric Johnson, Shane Miller and Tony Fiscus. Team managers are Macayla Kent, Mariah Addington and Nicole Thrailkill; and

WHEREAS, The team has the enthusiastic support of the school's administrators, the faculty, the students, the wrestlers' parents and many area citizens: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate the Norton Community High School wrestling team and Coach Johnson for winning the 2016 Kansas State High School Activities Association Class 3-2-1A State Wrestling Championship, and we extend our best wishes for their continued success and happiness; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send an enrolled copy of this resolution to Senator Ostmeyer.

Senate Resolution No. 1789 was sponsored by Senator Ralph Ostmeyer.

| ereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body | | | | |
|--|--|--|--|--|
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| | | | | |
| esident of the Senate | | | | |
| • | | | | |

Secretary of the Senate.