

Kansas Motor Carriers Association

Trucking Solutions Since 1936

Brett Weis

Great Plains Trucking President

Lori Borgan

Convoy Systems, LLC Chairman of the Board

Mark Munds

Groendyke Transport, Inc. *First Vice President*

Gale Karlin

Golden Plains Trucking, Inc. Second Vice President

Kevin Hanschu

J &H Trucking, Inc. Treasurer

Larry "Doc" Criqui

Kansas Van & Storage Criqui Corp. Corporate Secretary

Mike Miller

Miller Trucking LTD

ATA State Vice President

Jason Hammes

Fairview Express LLC ATA Alternate State VP

Ken Leicht

Miller Trucking LTD/Frito Lay Public Relations Chairman

Jane DeClue

DeClue Transport
ProTruck PAC Chairman

Jeff Robertson

TT&T Salvage & Towing, Inc Foundation Chairman

Ed Heath

Assured SRA - An Assured Partners Company Allied Industries Chairman

Tom Whitaker

Executive Director

Legislative Testimony
by the
Kansas Motor Carriers Association
before the
Senate Transportation Committee
Senator Mike Petersen, Chairman
Tuesday, March 6, 2018

In Support of House Bill No. 2511

Good morning. I am Tom Whitaker, Executive Director of the Kansas Motor Carriers Association. We appear before you today representing our 900 member-firms and the highway transportation industry in support of House Bill; No. 2511. The bill would extend the period a commercial driver's license (CDL) would be valid after initial issuance or renewal from four years to five years.

HB 2511 would align the CDL expiration date with the background check for a hazardous materials endorsement through the Transportation Security Administration. Adoption of this legislation is consistent with current Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration CDL regulations.

On behalf of the Kansas Motor Carriers Association we ask the Senate Transportation Committee to forward HB 2511 to the full Senate favorably. Thank you for the opportunity to appear before the Committee this morning and I will be pleased to respond to any questions you may have.

