## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1739**

## A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Hutchinson Community College men's basketball team for winning the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association Division I National Championship.

WHEREAS, The Hutchinson Community College men's basketball team won the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association (NJCAA) Division I National Championship against Eastern Florida State College with an 84-58 victory; and

WHEREAS, The Blue Dragons finished the season with 35 wins and only two losses, and won their first men's basketball national championship since 1994 and the third in the school's history; and

WHEREAS, Steve Eck is the head basketball coach for the Blue Dragons, who, during his two decades of coaching at the collegiate level, has compiled an incredible career record of 553-97. Coach Eck's staff includes assistant coaches Jay Cyriac and Cortland Carney; and

WHEREAS, Members of the team include: Shakur Juiston, who was named Tournament MVP; James Conley; Devonte Bandoo; Tiylar Cotton; Fatir Hines; Samajae Haynes-Jones, who was named to the All-Tournament team; J.J. Rhymes, who was named to the All-Tournament team; Dabon Gill; Sal Nuhu; Roman Young; Kai Mitchell; Randall Douvier; Trent Webster; Nikola Scekic; and Kyle Patrick: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Hutchinson Community College men's basketball team for winning the 2017 National Junior College Athletic Association Division I National Championship. We applaud their incredible accomplishments and wish them future success; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Berger.

Senate Resolution No. 1739 was sponsored by Senator Edward Berger.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.