SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1761

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state. The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers — one elementary and one secondary — in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as the Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the winner being chosen from among the eight finalists. The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year and the finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 18, 2017. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year is Samantha "Sam" J. Neill, Buhler USD 313; and the regional finalists are: Jennifer L. Donovan, De Soto USD 232; Jamie D. Manhart, Silver Lake USD 372; Megan E. Nagel, Newton USD 373; Angela "Angie" R. Powers, Olathe USD 233; Gilbert "Gil" R. Still, Jr., Dodge City USD 443; Sarah C. VenJohn, Winfield USD 465; and Bradley "Brad" W. Weaver, Atchison USD 409: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Samantha Neill success in the national competition; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to the members of the 2018 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and two enrolled copies to Senator Berger.

Senate Resolution No. 1761 was sponsored by Senators Molly Baumgardner and Ed Berger.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.