SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1776

A RESOLUTION recognizing the Kansas Small Business Development Center's 2018 Businesses of the Year.

WHEREAS, The mission of the Kansas Small Business Development Center (SBDC), a member of the national organization of America's SBDC, is to increase economic prosperity in Kansas by helping entrepreneurs and small business owners start and grow their businesses through professional consulting and training and the identification of appropriate resources; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas SBDC regional directors and staff selected seven Emerging Business of the Year award recipients, eight Existing Business of the Year award recipients and two Exporting Business of the Year award recipients; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas SBDC's Business of the Year awards are designed to recognize Kansas SBDC clients for superior performance; and

WHEREAS, Business of the Year award recipients have achieved major accomplishments, overcome significant obstacles, shown growth and positive economic impact, which is based on a record of profitability and the Kansas SBDC Economic Impact Tracking spreadsheet, and demonstrated good corporate citizenship through community contributions; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Kansas SBDC Emerging Businesses of the Year are: BellaRose Boutique and Tanning Salon, LLC, in Burlington, owned by Lindsay Beyer; Lost Creek Supply in Kensington, owned by Kaid Baumann; Angel Competition Bikinis, LLC, in Lenexa, owned by Karah and Lauren Beeves; HMC Performance Coatings in Tonganoxie, owned by Shawn and Amie Bristol; Root Coffeehouse in Pittsburg, owned by Lindsey and Trent King; Advantage Marketing in Wichita, owned by Cori Kohlmeier and Amy Hoefer; and Sugar Creek Country Store in St. Marys, owned by Dan Hohman; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Kansas SBDC Existing Businesses of the Year are: Radius Brewing Company, LLC, in Emporia, owned by Justin Bays, Jeremy Johns and Chad Swift; KYVZ Radio in Atwood, owned by Joe Vysourek; KC Restoration, LLC, in Olathe, owned by Bill and LeAnn Luemmen; KEAdvisors in Lawrence, owned by Keith Ely; LaHarpe Telephone Company, Inc., in LaHarpe, owned by Harry Lee, Joyce Lee and Carol Higginbotham; T & B Towing, LLC, in Turpin, Oklahoma, owned by Ty Rader; Overstock Art, LLC, in Wichita, owned by David Sasson; and Wabaunsee County Signal – Enterprise in Alma, owned by Lori Daniel; and

WHEREAS, The 2018 Kansas SBDC Exporting Businesses of the Year are: Double D Family Mat Shop, Inc., in Park, owned by Dale and Dena Goetz; and Northwind Technical Services, LLC, in Sabetha, owned by Mike and Marlene Bosworth; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas SBDC Businesses of the Year serve as examples of the success that the Kansas SBDC and small business owners across Kansas can achieve: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the Kansas Small Business Development Center's 2018 Emerging, Existing and Exporting Businesses of the Year and wish all of them, the Kansas SBDC and America's SBDC continued success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Holland.

Senate Resolution No. 1776 was sponsored by Senators Holland, Berger, Billinger, Bowers, Denning, Doll, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Givens, Goddard, Haley, Hawk, Hilderbrand, Kelly, Kerschen, Longbine, Lynn, McGinn, Petersen, Rogers, V. Schmidt, Sykes, Taylor and Tyson.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.
Secretary of the Senate.