SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1780

A RESOLUTION honoring and thanking the members of the Statehouse Custodial Team for their efforts to keep the Kansas statehouse clean and welcoming.

WHEREAS, The Kansas statehouse is the home of the legislative and executive branches of the Kansas state government; and

WHEREAS, Construction on the capitol began in 1866 and was completed in 1903, with a 14-year renovation initiated in 2000; and

WHEREAS, The statehouse welcomed more than 72,000 visitors who took a guided tour or used one of the spaces in the visitor's center during fiscal year 2017; and

WHEREAS, The statehouse is roughly 355,000 square feet, with about 500 different rooms; and

WHEREAS, The cleanliness of the statehouse creates one of the first impressions that visitors form of the capitol complex and impacts visitors' view of the state; and

WHEREAS, The Statehouse Custodial Team has a combined work experience at the statehouse of more than 144 years, led by Senior Custodial Supervisor Laura Smith, who, next week, will have worked at the statehouse for 39 years; and

WHEREAS, In addition to Laura Smith, the Statehouse Custodial Team is made up of Labor Supervisor Wes Coen and custodial specialists Jacob Wright, Mike Bronson, Verenice Chavez, Dustin Pederzani, Mark Helton, Gloria Pineda, Christopher Ross, Yun Knight, Sheryl Rath, Kevin King, Tod Anderson, Mary Alcala, Mathew Gamez, Karya Kennedy, Eric Steele, Delores Sharp and Sarah Meraz; and

WHEREAS, It is through the hard work of these employees that the statehouse remains an attractive building and one of the best visitor attractions in the state: Now, therefore.

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we honor and thank the members of the Statehouse Custodial Team for their efforts to keep the Kansas statehouse clean and welcoming; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 20 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Kelly.

Senate Resolution No. 1780 was sponsored by Senators Kelly, Hensley and V. Schmidt. I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.