SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1787

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the Pittsburg State University men's indoor track and field team on their 2018 NCAA Division II national championship.

WHEREAS, The Pittsburg State University captured the 2018 NCAA Division II men's indoor track and field championship on March 10, 2018, at the Robert W. Plaster Center in Pittsburg, Kansas, the program's first ever Division II national title; and

WHEREAS, The team also captured the 2018 MIAA men's indoor track and field championship on February 25, 2018; and

WHEREAS, Twelve Pittsburg State Gorillas earned all-MIAA honors and seven earned NCAA Division II All-American recognition, including a national champion in senior Bo Farrow, for shot put, and three national runners-up in senior Justice Burks, for 60m hurdles, senior Ian Duncan, for high jump and senior Tanner McNutt, for the heptathlon; and

WHEREAS, Assistant coach Kyle Rutledge was selected as the NCAA Division II Assistant Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Russ Jewett was selected as the MIAA, Central Region and NCAA Division II Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the Pittsburg State University men's indoor track and field team for their 2018 NCAA Division II national championship and also recognize head coach Russ Jewett, assistant coach Kyle Rutledge, athletic director Jim Johnson, Pittsburg State president Steve Scott and every athlete and member of the team for a successful 2018 season; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send five enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Hilderbrand.

Senate Resolution No. 1787 was sponsored by Senator Richard Hilderbrand.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.