Journal of the Senate

THIRTY-EIGHTH DAY

Senate Chamber, Topeka, Kansas Wednesday, March 11, 2020, 2:30 p.m.

The Senate was called to order by President Susan Wagle. The roll was called with 39 senators present. Senator Estes was excused. Invocation by Reverend Cecil T. Washington:

What We Need Now, Is A Word From The Lord!
Genesis 1-31

Heavenly Father, they say that the Corona Virus, aka COVID:19, is possibly here in Shawnee County. But what do You say? They say the virus is likely to have a 1 to 2 percent fatality rate. But what do You say? Some say the seriousness is drastically under-rated, while others are saying it's severely over-rated. But still, what do You say? Some say we should stay home and avoid the public. Others are saying, "just don't shake hands while we do business as usual." But most importantly, what do You say?

One set of experts is telling us one thing, while another set is saying something different; when to wear masks, and what kind, or when not to wear them. Lord, You have the words of life. In Genesis 1, all You did was speak, and the entire world was formed. So Lord, all You have to do now, is speak. So, while others are saying whatever it is they have to say, the question is still what do You say?

The songwriter Thomas Whitfield had it right when he said... "We need a word from the Lord, a word from the Lord. Just one word from the Lord will move all the doubts and cause the sun to shine, and give peace of mind. Speak Lord. Speak."

So Lord, while we listen to all the experts, and take all the earthly precautions, we'll wait on that Word from You. And it is in Your Holy and Precious Name that I offer these words, Amen and Amen.

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by President Wagle.

INTRODUCTION OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were introduced and read by title:

SB 495, AN ACT concerning insurance; reinstating the Kansas uninsurable health insurance plan act and renaming such plan the Kansas guaranteed coverage pool act contingent upon the patient protection and affordable care act being held invalid or unconstitutional; reporting by the commissioner of insurance to the legislature; amending K.S.A. 40-2117 and repealing the existing section, by Committee on Federal and State Affairs.

SB 496, AN ACT concerning sales taxation; relating to exemptions; storytime village, inc.; amending K.S.A. 79-3606 and repealing the existing section, by Committee on Federal and State Affairs.

SB 497, AN ACT concerning crimes, punishment and criminal procedure; relating to restitution; time of payment; amending K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 21-6604 and 21-6607 and repealing the existing sections, by Committee on Assessment and Taxation.

SB 498, AN ACT concerning STAR bonds; briefing for state finance council; state sales tax increment limit and requirements; extending the sunset provision thereof; amending K.S.A. 2019 Supp. 12-17,164, 12-17,169 and 12-17,179 and repealing the existing sections, by Committee on Assessment and Taxation.

SB 499, AN ACT concerning income taxation; relating to credits; providing a credit for qualified railroad track maintenance expenditures of short line railroads and associated industry track owners or lessees, by Committee on Assessment and Taxation.

REFERENCE OF BILLS AND CONCURRENT RESOLUTIONS

The following bills were referred to Committees as indicated:

Commerce: **SB 494**. Education: **SB 490**.

Financial Institutions and Insurance: **SB 489**. Public Health and Welfare: **SB 491**, **SB 493**.

Utilities: SB 492.

POINT OF PERSONAL PRIVILEGE

Senator Lynn rose on a Point of Personal Privilege and submitted the following written comments:

I am so proud to introduce to the body today, seated in the VIP gallery, the Leadership Council and coaches of the 2019 State 5A Football Champions from Mill Valley High School, which the Senator from Johnson (Senator Thompson) and I share in representing from DeSoto and Shawnee. They bring with them an incredible story of adversity and victory, displaying a resilience and mettle that saw them go undefeated in nine straight contests after starting the season 1-3, ultimately taking home the winner's trophy for the third time in the past five years.

In the process of prevailing in games at the District, Regional, Sectional, and Substate levels, they broke their own single season team rushing record. They also claimed two road playoff victories over previously unbeaten teams before repeating the feat in the State Title game. Most notably, their offense scored 40 points in that final challenge against a Wichita Northwest squad that had been giving up just over 10 points on average, while holding that opponent to 22 points under what it had been scoring.

Here to be recognized with and accept a Special Senate Tribute on behalf of the entire team are Carson Caldwell, Senior Linebacker; Grant Frost, Senior Defensive Back; Tyler Green, Senior Running Back; Kyle Kelly, Senior Offensive Lineman; Ethan Kremer, Junior Defensive Lineman; Cooper Marsh, Junior Quarterback; Jack McGuire, Senior Defensive Back; Joel Applebee, Head Coach; Drew Hudgins, Assistant Coach/Defensive Coordinator; Aaron Cox, Assistant Coach/Defensive Line; Ian Nichols, Assistant Coach/Corners; Kurt Bangle, Assistant Coach/Offensive Line; and Nick Foster, Assistant Coach/Quarterbacks.

Not able to be with us today, but certainly instrumental in the tremendous success of this amazing team are Seniors Kendal Christopher; Zach Mills; Martin Pallesen; Ben Mason; Tabari Johnson; Mason Scott; Duncan Haines Mills; Justin Sanders; Donald Kinsey; Adrien Blazer; Wyatt Hofstetter; and Nathan Janssen, along with Juniors Quin Wittenauer; Jacob Hartman; Taggert Baker; Dalton Harvey; Kolten Jegen; Chris Tennant; Hunter Johns; Trey Worcester; Pete Janssen; Ty Reishus; Cole Clauder; Kevin Jackson; Blake Martin; Hunter Gray; J.T. Grissom; Cole Knappen; Ashton Belt; Saxton Hall; Robbie Dervin; Prataap Bassi; David Cunningham; Tommy Penner; Timmy Penner; Sam Hecht; Lake Williams; and Tyler Hartwich.

Sophomore players for the Jaguars are Kendrick Jones; Javaun Neal; Blake Boatwright; Aidan Jacobs; Kris Twigg; Ben Fitterer; Jason Smith; Reece Porter; Jay Ybarra; John Anderson; Caleb Phipps; Payton Douglas; Aidan Shaffer; Owen Byerley; Ryan Fulcher; August Steinle; Cole Seyb; Teddy Brown; Cadynce Marlow; Dylan Jackson; Kellen Hobbs; and Jared Napoli. Finally, three Freshmen members are Hayden Jay; Preston Oliver; and Jesse Wood. Contributing as Managers are Kylee Dunn; Shelby Easum; Brady Gabbert; Megan Habib; Makayla Hilman; Jurgen Langegger; Ethan Males; Nick Pettigrew; Carlie Powers; Deema Rashid; Ben Stove; Austin Tomandl; and Kennedy Yeoman.

Complementing the coaching staff at Mill Valley are Josh Barnes; T.J. Finan; Terrale Johnson; Zach McFall; Greg Oder; Eric Thomas; Geoff White; Brad Scott; Matt Best; and Dustin Ester. The Athletic Trainers are Clint McAlister; Dr. Bryan Vopat; and Dr. Lucas Thompson, while the "Voice of the Jaguars" is Nick Pierce. Tobie Waldeck is School Principal; Jerald VanRheen, Marilyn Chrisler, and Jennifer Smith are Associate Principals; and Frank Harwood is USD 232 Superintendent. What an impressive "line-up" of personnel and support staff that all come together to make a championship organization; it is no wonder our beloved Jaguars have created a winning tradition that is here to stay!

MESSAGE FROM THE HOUSE

Representatives Waymaster, Hoffman and Wolfe Moore will replace Representatives Vickrey, Cox and Neighbor as conferees on the part of the House on **SB 66**.

REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES

Committee on Ways and Means recommends SB 368 be passed.

On motion of Senator Denning, the Senate adjourned until 2:30 p.m., Thursday, March 12, 2020.

CHARLENE BAILEY, CINDY SHEPARD, Journal Clerks.

COREY CARNAHAN, Secretary of the Senate.