

2018 - 2019 Executive Board Karen Madison, Cowley County President Janet Hale, Meade County Vice-president Janet Klasinski, Leavenworth County Secretary Tina Spencer, Marion County Treasurer

February 15, 2019

Honorable Kansas State Senator Elaine Bowers Chair, Senate Ethics, Elections and Local Government Committee and Distinguished Members of the Committee

Re: Senate Bill 130, relating to voter signatures on advance ballots

Chairman Bowers and Distinguished Committee Members,

I am the Harvey County Clerk and Election Officer and chair of the elections committee of the Kansas County Clerks and Election Officials Association (KCCEOA). I am submitting this letter supporting SB 130 on behalf of the KCCEOA membership. I thank you for your time in considering our opinions.

The KCCEOA prepared a legislative agenda which was developed through a policy committee process and agreed to by a majority of the members. One of the items specifically included is: "Advocating a change in the law which would allow voters to correct deficiencies in their advanced ballot signature line before the commencement of the final canvass".

We believe that this bill adequately addresses our concerns regarding the opportunity for voters to correct advance ballot signature deficiencies prior to the time of canvassing. This bill will clarify the actions to be taken by Election Officers for advance ballots with signature deficiencies. This bill corrects an issue that was not addressed when statutory changes were made a few years ago to allow the acceptance of advance ballots received by the Friday after an election; there was not a provision allowing for correcting signature issues on advance ballots received after the closing of the polls.

The KCCEOA supports SB 130, but we suggest that the Revisor consider amending KSA 25-1124, which pertains to returning voted advance ballots, instead of KSA 25-1122 which pertains to advance ballot applications.

Sincerely,

is Prepto

Rick Piepho Harvey County Clerk & Election Officer – KCCEOA Elections Committee Chair