

2019 - 2020 Executive board Janet Hale, Meade County President

Janet Klasinski, Leavenworth County Vice President Tina Spencer, Marion County Secretary Ashley Mannis, Sherman County

Treasurer

February 14, 2020

Honorable Kansas State Senator Elaine Bowers Chair, Senate Ethics, Elections and Local Government Committee and Distinguished Members of the Committee

Re: Senate Bill 412, relating to permanent advance voting status

Chairman Bowers and Distinguished Committee Members,

I am the Harvey County Clerk and Election Officer and chair of the elections committee of the Kansas County Clerks and Election Officials Association (KCCEOA). I am submitting this letter supporting SB 412 on behalf of the KCCEOA membership. I thank you for your time in considering our opinions.

The KCCEOA prepared a legislative agenda which was developed through a policy committee process and agreed to by a majority of the members. One of the items specifically included is: "Advocating expansion of the eligibility requirements for permanent advance voting status".

We believe that this bill adequately addresses our concerns regarding allowing **all** voters to apply for and receive advance ballots by mail for multiple elections. This bill allows more options, with less paperwork, for voters desiring to vote in advance while maintaining the photographic identification requirements. It also provides stringent requirements for these applicants to continue receiving ballots by mail automatically which will allow each election office to minimize the cost of mailing ballots.

There should be little to no increased cost to each county since the cost to mail any additional ballots should be offset by savings from processing less paperwork and possible reductions in the number of poll workers, which most counties struggle to find.

The KCCEOA supports this bill.

Sincerely,

us Prepto

Rick Piepho Harvey County Clerk & Election Officer – KCCEOA Elections Committee Chair