March 11, 2019



Sen. Ty Masterson Chairperson Utilities Committee Room 224-E State Capitol 300 SW 10<sup>th</sup> Street Topeka, KS 66612

RE: HB 2084 – Amending the Kansas 911 Act

Honorable Senator Masterson & Committee Members:

Miami County is concerned with HB 2084 – Amending the Kansas 911 Act. Specifically, a recent amendment to the Bill reduced the recommended fee from \$1.03 per line to \$0.80 per line on a monthly basis. Additionally, \$0.23 per line will be collected to fund the statewide Next Generation 911 system. If the Bill is adopted in its present form, Miami County will receive \$0.02 less per line on a monthly basis resulting in a \$7,857 annual funding decrease.

Miami County participates in the Mid-America Regional Council's (MARC) 911 System along with Douglas, Johnson, Leavenworth, and Wyandotte counties. Said fees are utilized to support Miami County's PSAP and pay proportionate fees to the MARC 911 System.

As the Senate Utilities Committee considers HB 2084, Miami County believes it is important to note a few concerns. First, the Legislative Post Audit findings in 2013, 2016, and 2018 determined the present fee of \$0.60 per line is not sufficient to fund future Next Generation 911 upgrades and operations. A recommended increase to \$1.05 per line was determined by the Legislative Post Audit to sustain said system. Second, seventeen counties representing approximately forty percent of the State's population do not use the statewide system. Counties not on the statewide system should not be financially harmed if a new revenue redistribution model is created. Inflationary cost increases will ultimately result in the use of property tax revenue in lieu of a user fee structure historically in place to fund emergency communications.

Miami County strongly advocates for the per line fee to be established at \$1.03. Please feel free to contact me if additional information is needed.

Respectfully,

Rob Roberts Miami County Commissioner

Miami County, Kansas • 201 S. Pearl, Suite 200 • Paola, KS 66071 • Phone (913)294-5844 • Fax (913)294-9163 Phil Dixon, Commission District 1 • Bonnie 'Rob' Roberts, Commission District 2 George Pretz, Commission District 3 • Tyler Vaughan, Commission District 4 Danny Gallagher, Commission District 5