Division of the Budget Landon State Office Building 900 SW Jackson Street, Room 504 Topeka, KS 66612



Phone: (785) 296-2436 larry.campbell@ks.gov http://budget.kansas.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

Larry L. Campbell, Director

February 18, 2019

The Honorable Elaine Bowers, Chairperson Senate Committee on Ethics, Elections and Local Government Statehouse, Room 223-E Topeka, Kansas 66612

Dear Senator Bowers:

SUBJECT: Fiscal Note for SB 132 by Senate Committee on Ethics, Elections and Local

Government

In accordance with KSA 75-3715a, the following fiscal note concerning SB 132 is respectfully submitted to your committee.

Current law prohibits electioneering within a radius of 250 feet from the entrance of a polling place on election day or advance voting site during the time period allowed by law for casting a ballot. SB 132 would reduce that radius to 50 feet. To the activities that are prohibited within that radius, the bill would add gathering signatures or otherwise circulating a petition, regardless of the subject of the petition. The bill would also add to the list of activities exempt from the definition of electioneering wearing, exhibiting or distributing labels, signs, posters, stickers or other materials that clearly identify a candidate in the election or clearly indicate support or opposition to a question submitted election at a location separated from the polling place or advance voting site by a public street, road, highway or driveway or on public property that is not used as a polling place.

According to the Kansas Secretary of State, enactment of SB 132 could have a minor fiscal effect on the agency as it would need to update existing training and education materials to implement the new law. The changes could be accomplished within existing resources. Any fiscal effect associated with SB 132 is not reflected in *The FY 2020 Governor's Budget Report*.

The Kansas Association of Counties states that enactment of SB 132 would have no fiscal effect on Kansas counties.

Sincerely,

Larry L. Campbell

Division of the Budget

cc: Jay Hall, Association of Counties Bryan Caskey, Office of the Secretary of State