## **House Concurrent Resolution No. 5025**

By Representatives Ryckman, Sawyer, Finch, Hawkins and Winn

3-13

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION ratifying the March 12, 2020, State of Disaster Emergency declaration issued by Governor Laura Kelly and providing for the continuation thereof for the entire 105 counties of Kansas through January 25, 2021.

WHEREAS, On March 12, 2020, Governor Laura Kelly issued a State of Disaster Emergency declaration in response to confirmed cases of novel coronavirus (COVID-19) in the state of Kansas and considers that a public health emergency exists within the state of Kansas. The United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) identifies the potential public health threat posed by COVID-19 both globally and in the United States as "high," and the United States Department of Health & Human Services declared a public health emergency for COVID-19 beginning January 27, 2020. The World Health Organization (WHO) declared a global pandemic on March 11, 2020: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives of the State of Kansas, the Senate concurring therein: That the State of Disaster Emergency declaration issued on March 12, 2020, for the entire 105 counties of Kansas in accordance with K.S.A. 48-924, and amendments thereto, is hereby ratified and continued in force and effect on and after March 12, 2020, through January 25, 2021, subject to extension by the State Finance Council in accordance with K.S.A. 48-924(b)(3), and amendments thereto.