SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1710

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the individuals selected as award-winning educators in Kansas.

WHEREAS, National Board Certification, which is a voluntary process, is achieved through a performance-based assessment process that measures a teacher's practice against high and rigorous advanced standards to demonstrate accomplished practices; and

WHEREAS, Caroline Anderson, Liberty View Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Rebecca Dalton, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Julie Disbrow, Eisenhower Middle School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Sandy Espitia, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Christy Hagan, Sunrise Point Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Heather Hagstrom, Blue Valley USD 229; Melissa Hensley, Garden City High School, Garden City USD 457; Jackie Ingram, Salina Middle School, Salina USD 305; Brandy Lane, Eisenhower Middle School, Goddard USD 265; Donna Long, Frances Willard Elementary School, Kansas City USD 500; Jennifer Mercer, Pauline South Intermediate School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Traci Miller, Riley Elementary School, Great Bend USD 428; Kristy Oborny, Kathryn O'Loughlin McCarthy Elementary School, Hays USD 489; Angie Persyn, Valley Center High School, Valley Center USD 262; Theresa Rudnick, Blue Valley North High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Bethany Vokac, Liberty View Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; Angie Webb, St. John Elementary School, St. John-Hudson USD 350; and Phillip Wrigley, Topeka High School, Topeka USD 501, have satisfied the highest professional qualifications of the National Board of Professional Teaching Standards, to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers; and

WHEREAS, 32 beginning educators from across the state have been named as 2019 Kansas Horizon Award Program educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its 17th year and sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, identifies and recognizes exemplary first-year teachers from elementary and secondary classrooms across the state who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 1 recipients are: Holly Abel, Riverside Elementary School, Emporia USD 253; Abigail Baeten, Lincoln Elementary School, Clay County USD 379; Abigail Buser, Westwood Elementary School, Geary County USD 475; Meredith Clark, Beloit Junior/Senior High School, Beloit USD 273; Kristy Fischer, Ellinwood Middle/High School, Ellinwood USD 355; Kaleigh Huxman, McPherson Middle School, McPherson USD 418; Jill Siebert, Hillsboro Elementary School, Hillsboro-Lehigh-Durham USD 410; and Alicia Herbel, Moundridge Middle/High School, Moundridge USD 423; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 2 recipients are: Olivia Basye, Berryton Elementary School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Chari Bauman, Yates Center Elementary School, Woodson USD 366; Julie Burk, Eudora Elementary School, Eudora USD 491; Riley Propps, Shawnee Heights High School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Logan Pegram, Anderson County Junior/Senior High School, Garnett-Greeley-Westphalia USD 365; Macy Pickman, Atchison High School, Atchison USD 409; Garret Platt, Seaman Middle School, Seaman USD 345; and Hannah Taylor, Scott Dual Language Magnet School, Topeka USD 501; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 3 recipients are: Bailey Bacon, J.C. Harmon High School, Kansas City USD 500; Kadra Boulware, Rockville Elementary School, Louisburg USD 416; Katey Foley, Gardner Edgerton High School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Sarah Lenz, Wolf Creek Elementary School, Spring Hill USD 230; Haley Poulter, Mize Elementary School, De Soto USD 232; Clayton Prater, Bonner Springs Elementary School, Bonner Springs/Edwardsville USD 204; Leanna Willer, Louisburg High School, Louisburg USD 416; and Danielle Winkler, Spring Hill Middle School, Spring Hill USD 230; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 4 recipients are: Macey Dinkel, Stafford Elementary School, Stafford USD 349; Rachel Eck, Goddard High School, Goddard USD 265; Amy Hiebert, Halstead Middle School, Halstead/Bentley USD 440; Joseph Hubener, Clearwater High School, Clearwater USD 264; Chandler Ochoa, Newton High School, Newton USD 373; Michelle Ramirez, Nelson Elementary School, Haysville USD 261; Payton Scheer, Challenger Intermediate School, Goddard USD 265; and Paige Towey, St. Mark's School, Renwick USD 267: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these outstanding educators; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 54 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of these teachers so honored, and another copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1710 was sponsored by Senators Baumgardner, Alley, Berger, Billinger, Bollier, Braun, Denning, Francisco, Goddard, Haley, Hilderbrand, Holland, Kerschen, Longbine, Lynn, Olson, Pettey, Pilcher-Cook, Pyle, Rucker, Skubal, Suellentrop, Tyson, Ware and Wilborn.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate
	Secretary of the Senate