## **SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1717**

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending Dr. Kent and Olga Porter for their indomitable commitment to and outstanding achievement in the restoration of the historic Stonehaven Farm.

WHEREAS, Stonehaven Farm in Leavenworth County is a 20-acre historic treasure, located on what was the largest commercial apple orchard farm in the world at the end of the 19<sup>th</sup> century; and

WHEREAS, The Stonehaven Farm was originally designed by Cora Wellhouse Bullard, a champion of women's rights and daughter of beloved Kansas State Senator and American Civil War Captain Frederick Wellhouse; and

WHEREAS, Construction on the farm began in 1898 and was completed in 1903. The Stonehaven Farm is a local and national landmark, recognized on the Kansas Historic Register and the National Register of Historic Places; and

WHEREAS, The husband-wife team of Dr. Kent and Olga Porter have devoted decades to an exceptionally high-quality restoration of the Stonehaven Farm while retaining its original architecture and historical details; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Preservation Alliance has recognized the Porters with the 2018 Honor Award for Excellence in Preservation; and

WHEREAS, The members of the Kansas Legislature and the people of Kansas take great pride in the preservation of vibrant history, and are eternally grateful to the Porters for their hard work, perseverance and steadfast dedication to safeguarding this cherished Kansas property: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend Dr. Kent and Olga Porter for their indomitable commitment to and outstanding achievement in the restoration of the historic Stonehaven Farm; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send four enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Holland.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

Senate Resolution No. 1717 was sponsored by Senator Tom Holland.

President of the Senate.
 Secretary of the Senate.