SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1736

A RESOLUTION honoring the Washburn Rural High School girls basketball team for their outstanding performance at the 2019 Kansas State High School Activities Association Girls Class 6A State Basketball Championship.

WHEREAS, The 2018-2019 Washburn Rural High School girls basketball team roster includes Carly Bachelor, Campbell Bagshaw, Riley Bagshaw, Katelynn Brogan, Lakhota Conklin, Shelby Ebert, Kasey Hamilton, Emma Krueger, Shelbey Wichman, Sheriden Wichman and Trenna Whitmore, with Taylor Brunton, Ella Hurtig, Jessica Jones, Hannah Munstermann, Cale Scheck and Austin Weast as managers; and

WHEREAS, The 2018-2019 Washburn Rural High School girls basketball team is staffed by head coach Kevin Bordewick and assistant coaches Taylor Dunham, Tricia Vogel and Alexandra Wampfler; and

WHEREAS, During the week of March 4, 2019, the Washburn Rural Lady Blues competed in the Kansas State High School Activities Association Girls Class 6A State Basketball Championship. On March 9, 2019, the Lady Blues emerged victorious as state champions for the fourth time in school history; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Blues' March 9, 2019, performance capped a highly successful 2018-2019 season. In addition to finishing the season with a 23-2 win-loss record and the state title, the Lady Blues were named Centennial League co-champions; and

WHEREAS, Several Lady Blues received individual honors during the 2018-2019 season. Bachelor, Hamilton and Krueger received All-City, All-League and All-State honors; Ebert received All-City and All-League honors; and R. Bagshaw received All-City honors; and

WHEREAS, During the 2018-2019 season, Bachelor was recognized as Washburn Rural's all-time scoring leader and all-time rebounding leader for girls basketball, was named the Centennial League player of the year for the third consecutive year and was instrumental in leading the Lady Blues to their ultimate victory; and

WHEREAS, The 2019 Kansas State High School Activities Association Girls Class 6A State Basketball Championship marked head coach Bordewick's 11th state championship for Washburn Rural High School. Subsequently, Bordewick was named the Centennial League Girls Basketball Coach of the Year and the Sports in Kansas 6A Coach of the Year: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we honor the Washburn Rural High School girls basketball team for their outstanding performance at the 2019 Kansas State High School Activities Association Girls Class 6A State Basketball Championship. The Lady Blues epitomize what teamwork, dedication and perseverance can accomplish. We applaud them for their triumphs and wish them continued success and happiness in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 15 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Rucker.

Senate Resolution No. 1736 was sponsored by Senator Eric Rucker.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate.