## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1752

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the members of the 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year team.

WHEREAS, The Kansas State Department of Education sponsors the Kansas Teacher of the Year program, which identifies, recognizes, and utilizes representatives of excellent teaching in the elementary and secondary classrooms of the state; and

WHEREAS, The mission of the program is to build and utilize a network of exemplary teachers who are leaders in the improvement of schools, student performance, and the teaching profession; and

WHEREAS, Two teachers — one elementary and one secondary — in each of the state's four United States congressional districts were selected as finalists for recognition as Kansas Teacher of the Year, with the recipient being chosen from among the eight finalists; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is awarded with the Hubbard Foundation Kansas Teacher of the Year Ambassadorship, which enables the person selected to devote significant time during the second semester to activities supporting the mission of the program. The 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year and the finalists were honored at an awards banquet on November 23, 2019. All members received a cash award as well as mementos of the event; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Teacher of the Year is nominated to represent Kansas in the National Teacher of the Year program, a project of the Council of Chief State School Officers, presented by Voya Financial. The 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year, Tabatha C. Rosproy, Winfield USD 465, is one of four finalists for the 2020 National Teacher of the Year; and

WHEREAS, The regional finalists are: Kara E. Belew, Andover USD 385; Amy R. Hillman, Olathe USD 233; Shawn Hornung, Wamego USD 320; Stefanie M. Lane, Clay County USD 379; Julie Loevenstein, Basehor-Linwood USD 458; Lara K. McDonald, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; and Melissa K. Molteni, Shawnee Mission USD 512: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend the members of the 2020 Kansas Teacher of the Year team and wish Tabatha C. Rosproy success in the national competition; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send eight enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Baumgardner.

Senate Resolution No. 1752 was sponsored by Senators Baumgardner, Alley, Bollier, Braun, Estes, Givens, Hawk, Holland, Longbine, Lynn, Masterson, Miller, Pyle, Rucker, Sykes, Taylor and Thompson.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution or	riginated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body
	President of the Senate.
	Secretary of the Senate