SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1756

A RESOLUTION congratulating and commending the individuals selected as award-winning educators in Kansas.

WHEREAS, The Milken Educator Awards program, established by the Milken Family Foundation, recognizes the top educators in the country. The program provides awards to elementary and secondary school teachers, principals, and other educational professionals who inspire excellence in education; and

WHEREAS, Carly Bowden, an educator at Andover Central Middle School in Andover USD 385, has been selected as the Kansas recipient of the 2019 Milken Educator Award; and

WHEREAS, National Board Certification is designed to develop, retain, and recognize accomplished educators nationwide. The certification process requires that educators demonstrate evidence of the positive effect they have on student learning. They must also exhibit a deep understanding of their students, content knowledge, use of data, and teaching practices; and

WHEREAS, The following educators have satisfied the high professional requirements of National Board of Professional Teaching Standards to be designated as National Board Certified Teachers: Laura Bock, Blue Valley USD 229; Ashley Eckelberry, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Karen Stohlmann Henderson, Blue Valley USD 229; Kerry Kinkelaar, Blue Valley USD 229; Melanie Kiser, Wichita USD 259; Cheryl Lee, Blue Valley USD 229; Misty Lohmeyer, Hays USD 489; Jeremy Mohn, Blue Valley USD 229; Frances Oare, Wichita USD 259; Katherine Orr, Valley Center USD 262; Lisa Renz, Hays USD 489; Meg Richard, Olathe USD 233; Nancy Torgler, Blue Valley USD 229; Sarah Wise, Garden City USD 457; Stephanie Withrow, Southeast Kansas Interlocal; and

WHEREAS, 32 first-year educators from across the state have been named as Kansas Horizon Award Program Educators; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas Horizon Award Program, currently in its 18th year and sponsored by the Kansas State Department of Education and Capitol Federal, identifies and recognizes exemplary first-year teachers who perform in a way that distinguishes them as outstanding; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 1 recipients are: Elly Dice, North Lyon Co. Elementary School, North Lyon Co. USD 251; Christina Frost, Council Grove Elementary School, Morris County USD 417; Mariannet Navarro Herrera, Western Plains High School, Western Plains USD 106; Lillian Lingenfelter, Peabody-Burns Middle School, Peabody-Burns USD 398; Carrie Pilkington, St. George Elementary School, Rock Creek USD 323; Lisa Pluff, Manhattan High School, Manhattan-Ogden USD 383; Caroline Riggenbach, Plum Creek Elementary School, Buhler USD 313; Kyle Van Vogelpoel, Rock Creek Jr. Sr. High School, Rock Creek USD 323; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 2 recipients are: Chad Aberle, West Middle School, Lawrence USD 497; Kaylee Barber, Washburn Rural High School, Auburn-Washburn USD 437; Tristan Bartley, McLouth Public School, McLouth USD 342; Heather Corley, Anderson Co. Jr. Sr. High School, Garnett USD 365; Sidney Doty, Berryton Elementary School, Shawnee Heights USD 450; Allison Flinn, Oskaloosa Elementary School, Oskaloosa USD 341; Tawni Schraad, Randolph Elementary School, Topeka USD 501; Scotti Twombly, Hiawatha Elementary School, Hiawatha USD 415; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 3 recipients are: Emily Baden, Nike Elementary School, Gardner Edgerton USD 231; Samantha Collins, Chisholm Trail Middle School, Olathe USD 233; Katie Cox, Turner Middle School, Turner USD 202; Blake Fingalsen, Rhein Benninghoven Elementary School, Shawnee Mission USD 512; Bennett Johnson, Heritage Elementary School, Olathe USD 233; Paige Lankford, Blue Valley West High School, Blue Valley USD 229; Matthew Lundy, Spring Hill High School, Spring Hill USD 230; Emily Moore, Overland Trail Elementary School, Blue Valley USD 229; and

WHEREAS, This year's Region 4 recipients are: Victoria Bay, Andover Central Middle School, Andover USD 385; Keegan Hallmark, Andover Middle School, Andover USD 385; Kacie Johnson, El Dorado Middle School, El Dorado USD 490; Chasmyn Lindeman-Thimesch, Cloud Elementary School, Wichita USD 259; Crystal Logan, Mulvane High School, Mulvane USD 263; Kelley Lowe, W.D. Munson Primary School, Mulvane USD 263; Mollie Mills-Weis, Newton High School, Newton USD 373; Kali Stearns, Circle Towanda Elementary School, Circle USD 375: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we congratulate and commend these award-winning Kansas educators; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 48 enrolled copies of this resolution to the Commissioner of Education for forwarding to each of these teachers so honored, and another copy to the Commissioner of Education.

Senate Resolution No. 1756 was sponsored by Senators Baumgardner, Alley, Bollier, Braun, Estes, Givens, Rucker, Sykes, Taylor and Thompson.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body

President of the Senate.

Secretary of the Senate.