## SENATE RESOLUTION No. 1766

## A RESOLUTION recognizing the Kansas Small Business Development Center's 2020 Businesses of the Year.

WHEREAS, The mission of the Kansas Small Business Development Center (SBDC), an accredited member of the national organization, America's SBDC, is to increase economic prosperity in Kansas by helping entrepreneurs and small business owners start and grow their businesses through professional consulting, training and the identification of appropriate resources; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas SBDC regional directors and staff selected eight Emerging Business of the Year award recipients, eight Existing Business of the Year award recipients and two Exporting Business of the Year award recipients; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas SBDC's Business of the Year awards are designed to recognize Kansas SBDC clients for superior performance; and

WHEREAS, Business of the Year award recipients have achieved major accomplishments, overcome significant obstacles, shown growth and positive economic impact, which is based on a record of profitability and the Kansas SBDC Economic Impact Tracking spreadsheet, and demonstrated good corporate citizenship through community contributions; and

WHEREAS, The 2020 Kansas SBDC Emerging Businesses of the Year are: EMP Shield in Burlington, Kansas, owned by Timothy Carty and Peter Keegan; Mind Sculpt Games, LLC, in Great Bend, Kansas, owned by Darcy Leech and Daniel Leech; LC BioPlastics, LLC, in Prairie Village, Kansas, owned by Paul Black; Julie Bear Don't Walk Acupuncture & Integrative Health in Lawrence, Kansas, owned by Julie Bear Don't Walk; Smallville CrossFit in Fort Scott, Kansas, owned by Lindsey and Aaron Watts; The Red Rock Experience & Venue in Ulysses, Kansas, owned by Tammy Lane-Reese; Ember Technology, LLC, in Wichita, Kansas, owned by Jonathan Sanchez and Tariq Azmi; and Anneal Initiative, Inc., in Topeka, Kansas, owned by Amy Billinger, Jeremy Jackson and Jennie Jackson; and

WHEREAS, The 2020 Kansas SBDC Existing Businesses of the Year are: The Sweet Granada in Emporia, Kansas, owned by Kim Redeker; Paisley Pear Wine Bar, Bistro & Market in Hays, Kansas, owned by Shaun and Heather Musil; Blue Valley Physical Therapy in Overland Park, Kansas, owned by Ann Todd-Cooper and Ryan Klusman; Young Sign Co., in Leavenworth, Kansas, owned by Ann and John Hoins; ADI, Inc., in Chanute, Kansas, owned by Merrill and Wendy Cunningham; Dodge City Brewing Company, LLC, in Dodge City, Kansas, owned by Larry and Sheri Cook; Connie's Mexico Café in Wichita, Kansas, owned by Carmen Rosales, Adele Jordan, Carla Rosales-Banuelos and Carmen Renteria; and The Marie Antoinette Gluten Free Baking Co., in Wathena, Kansas, owned by Rani Navarro-Force and Shawn Force; and

WHEREAS, The 2020 Kansas SBDC Exporting Businesses of the Year are: SkuTouch Solutions, LLC, in Lenexa, Kansas, owned by Doug Obershaw and Terry Obershaw; and Progressive Products, Inc., in Pittsburg, Kansas, owned by Todd Allison; and

WHEREAS, The Kansas SBDC Businesses of the Year serve as examples of the success that the Kansas SBDC and small business owners across Kansas can achieve: Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate of the State of Kansas: That we recognize the Kansas Small Business Development Center's 2020 Emerging, Existing and Exporting Businesses of the Year and wish the Kansas SBDC and America's SBDC continued success in the future; and

Be it further resolved: That the Secretary of the Senate shall send 18 enrolled copies of this resolution to Senator Holland.

Senate Resolution No. 1766 was sponsored by Senators Holland, Berger, Billinger, Bollier, Bowers, Braun, Doll, Estes, Faust-Goudeau, Francisco, Givens, Goddard, Haley, Hardy, Hawk, Hensley, Hilderbrand, Lynn, Masterson, Miller, Pettey, Skubal, Sykes, Taylor, Tyson and Ware.

I hereby certify that the above Resolution originated in the Senate, and was adopted by that body	
	President of the Senate
	Sacratum of the Samute